New PowerSupply- HELP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-23-2006, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1
Unhappy New PowerSupply- HELP

I just got a new power supply because my old one was constantly making weird noises and from time to time my graphics card would fail to load.
My old psu was a Sunus Suntek 350ATXE-HP. Because i had just upgraded my video card before the problems started, i figured it was a power usage issue. So i bought a Zumax x3 series ATX12V Ver.2.0 ZU-600W power supply. When connecting the psu i accidently put the extra ATX 4pin mother board connector into a regular 4pin connection port. Now when i try to boot i gett a message saying "reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device and press a key"
I have to much important docs' on my comp and i don't wanna loose them, plus i don't have a disc to boot from. Even when i boot from the bios the same message comes up

Here are the specs to my comp as best as i can remember

motherboard- pc chips M957G V1.0

help please?

buzzy is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 08:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363

What kind of port did you plug the 4 pin connector in to? Was it on the motherboard, hard drive, graphics card, disc drive...? If it did damage to your motherboard, you should be able to still extract the data off of your hard drive by removing the hard drive and inserting it into another PC. You can test to see if the PC still boots by downloading and burning the Ubuntu (or any other Live CD Linux distro). You can get Ubuntu at and then burn the .iso to a blank CD. Put it in the drive before you boot the PC, and when you do it should boot into the Ubuntu operating system. If not, go into BIOS and change the order of the devices boot.


CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 11-23-2006, 08:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 438

You may have just scrambled your settings,dont reallyknow for sure. Try checking your boot order in your bios and see if its set to boot from hard drive.
Q6600@ 3.0ghz
eVGA 680i A1
4x1gb Mushkin DDR2 800
2x8800gt xFx
Coolermaster Stacker 830
an51r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.