New Power Supply and PC won't Boot - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2009, 01:09 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: New Power Supply and PC won't Boot

You said you added another Video Card right? I'm assuming to SLI?

Do you still have both video cards in while trying to test? If so Try removing one video card - leave inthe original card. Then try.

I doubt it's a PSU problem. You couldn't power up with the new one and the old one also. I doubt it's the CPU. (Make sure your ram is properly seated in their slots.)

Last resort would be removing everything except (CPU, H&S fan, remove all ram except 1 stick) connect just the 20+4 pin tot he mobo and the 4+4 to the CPU on mobo. Make sure the front panel case connector for the Power switch is properly connected and try it.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 02:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: New Power Supply and PC won't Boot

Yup, trying to achieve sli. Upon removing the power cables to the second GPU the motherboard starts beeping. I have tried booting with only one GPU in and still no signs of any activity. I have yet to try just the bare cpu/heatsink and 1 stick of ram idea and will see what happens as soon as i get it done. thanks
__________________

CoH Addict is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 03:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: New Power Supply and PC won't Boot

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoH Addict View Post
Yup, trying to achieve sli. Upon removing the power cables to the second GPU the motherboard starts beeping. I have tried booting with only one GPU in and still no signs of any activity. I have yet to try just the bare cpu/heatsink and 1 stick of ram idea and will see what happens as soon as i get it done. thanks
You can't just remove the power cable to the second card. You have to remove the card itself completely.
The beeping is a post code letting you know that you have a device that requires power that isn't getting it.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 04:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: New Power Supply and PC won't Boot

In this case the beeping is probably one continuous beep from the graphics card as a warning it has no power.
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 03-03-2009, 04:41 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New Power Supply and PC won't Boot

what model power supply? i know my Zalman says to not plug in the +4 pin connector with a molex connector to the mobo at the same time (one for the mobo along with the 20pin) cause i tried it the first time i got it (with my Nfoce 570 sli board) and pluged in the 4pin connector and it would turn on for a second and then turn off. might want to check that.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 09:23 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: New Power Supply and PC won't Boot

PSU is a Topower Powerbird 900 watt. With +4 connector are you referring to the one that goes to the CPU fan / Zalaman?

Edit:

Tried booting with no graphics cards and nothing but motherboard,ram, cpu and cpu heatsink -----> shorted the electricity in the whole house when i turned the power supply on (from "0" to "1") without even having a chance to turn the actual computer on :S
CoH Addict is offline  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:50 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default Re: New Power Supply and PC won't Boot

Crazy questions:

Are you using a power strip or UPS? Connected to the PSU? Are you plugging the PSU directly in to the wall outlet?

Have you tried plugging the PSU into another wall outlet? Try plugging it into another wall outlet on a different circuit than the one you are using.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-05-2009, 12:06 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default Re: New Power Supply and PC won't Boot

PSU is connected to a power strip, ill give it a shot on another circuit and see how it goes, thanks
__________________

CoH Addict is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.