New PC won't boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2006, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default New PC won't boot

Hi I have just finished putting in all of the hardware for my new computer. I thought I did everything correctly, but when I turn it on, the fans spin for about 1 second and then everything shuts off. I know it is kind of hard to tell what the problem is, but maybe someone can. The mobo has a 24 pin atx input, but my psu only has 20 pin, so I plugged the 20 pin into the 24 pin input and the 12V into the 12V. I read that this should work. The only case cord I have plugged in is the power button dord. Maybe my psu isn't strong enough.

Got any assistance? Please give it to me.
Adam

Hardware:
Antec true430 430 watt.
Athlon 64 3000+.
Epox Ep-8npa mobo.
2x512 Mb corsair valu select RAM.
Evga 256 Mb 7600gs.
Seagate 80 Gb 3.0G/s
__________________

gator12090 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 12:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

Get a 24-pin PSU, and plug everything into where its supposed to go. If that doesn't work, reset your CMOS.
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 08:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

How olds the psu, the true power 2.0 is 24pin are you saying you have the top 4 pins empty on the atx mobo connector? Come on how would you think that would work. Every psu I have seen in the last year or so are all 24 and you can seperate the top four and use them on a 20.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 10:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

If you read a little bit, everything should work when the 20 pin is plugged into the 24 pin, leaving the last 4 pins empty. For example, read here
gator12090 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gator12090
If you read a little bit, everything should work when the 20 pin is plugged into the 24 pin, leaving the last 4 pins empty. For example, read here
Does yours work?
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4
Default

Hey buddy, that may and should not be what is causing the problem. When building a computer, one must evaluate all possible problems.
gator12090 is offline  
Old 05-14-2006, 01:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

I am just saying the first thing I would try is a proper psu for that board. Do you know those four pin's are for your pci-e graphics card?
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.