New PC no display - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2005, 10:04 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does the graphics card work in another PC?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 10:14 AM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Haven't tried that yet but I will do that later also. Thanks for the suggestion, my thinking is a bit strained from it all at this stage and I might have taken me another while to get around to that. I should have all things to do with the graphics checked in two and a half hours time.
casey
__________________

casey is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 12:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 27
Default

I say the same thing too. Try another graphics card, with or without the floppy connected you should be able to get display. If you said that you tried other moniters then the moniter is not the problem but also thre port.
Did A+ Recently....
obedyah is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 01:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Looks bad. The graphics card is fine. I'm using it as I write from a different machine. Going to see if I can get a different processor to work. Also the card is AGP and I tried a PCI one in the machine aswell but nothing. Getting to sound closer to a recognisable problem?

---

Tried a few more permutations but still the same. The lights flash on the keyboard, the DVD drive light flashes. Nothing from the floppy drive, no beeps and no display.
casey
casey is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 03:46 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Just put a P4 in and I got a screen display do it looks like the problem is either with the Pentium M chip or the CT-479 adaptor. I'll post back once I sort it out.
Thanks again,
casey
casey is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:26 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 29
Send a message via AIM to doC47
Default

try rearanging your cables, and make sure everything is plugged in. Just one little cord can screw everything up man.
doC47 is offline  
Old 10-07-2005, 04:48 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Now finished with this topic. About to post a new one specific to the ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe mobo.
Thanks for all the help.
casey
__________________

casey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.