New PC no display - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2005, 08:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default New PC no display

I have set this up as a different topic but it is a continuation of the topic " New PC - Lights on, no fans". Hopefully this is a better description of the present situation.

I am building a machine at present and have everything put together but have hit a stumbling block. I have power going to the motherboard, fans are spinning, hard disks spinning. POST commences but no light on the floppy drive. Also, I am getting nothing on the monitor. I have yet to install an OS but should at least get a BIOS screen. I have tried changing the floppy drive and its ribbon cable and have tried another monitor but no luck. I am going to try a different graphics card later to see if that is the problem. I have reset the CMOS also but to no avail.
Suggestions appreciated.
casey
__________________

casey is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 08:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Does the floppy drive respond if you start up your system with a disk in it?
__________________

__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 08:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

has your motherboard got onboard graphics?
do you hear any beeps?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 08:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 27
Default

If you said the post commences then you don't hear a variety of beeps right? And what about the CPU?
obedyah is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 08:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

No. That is giving me some concern but I wonder if it has been disabled in the original BIOS settings. Once again I do not know whether this would be normal or not. Maybe there is a problem with the floppy connection on the mobo but when the cable is attached incorrectly it gives the tell tale permanent green light on the floppy drive which would suggest that there is communication between the mobo and the drive.
casey is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Response to apokalipse:
1- No onboard graphics but I am going to try another graphics card later.
2- I was getting a single bootup beep when the floppy cable was reversed (my mistake connecting it) but at the moment no beeps at all. No display while I had the bootup beep either.

Response to obedyah
- Dont know if I have a problem with the CPU or not. The heat sink fan is spinning but I have no way of knowing if it is alright until I get something on the scree. I have removed the CPU twice at this stage to check the pins and they are fine. The setup again is a Pentium M 2.0GHZ in conjunction with the ASUS CT-479 adaptor and the adaptor plugs into the ASUS P4C800-E Deluxe Mobo.
casey is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:29 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

a single beep means it's POSTing okay
it could just be the monitor cable
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Tried it using two separate monitors with no positive result. Also, seems strange that the single beep should occur when floppy cable is attached in reverse order but does not sound when the cable is connected correctly.
casey
casey is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 09:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what about the monitor cable
if it's not the cable, then it's probabbly the graphics card
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 10:03 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Should have said, used a different cable with each monitor. I am going to try a different Graphics card later. I am away from the machine at present. Does it sound like the graphics card? If the present card was working should I at least see the manufacturer details on the screen even if there was a problem with some of the other compnents?
casey
__________________

casey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.