New PC - Lights on, no fans - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2005, 04:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

Your floppy cable is plugged in backwards. Wouldn't be surprised if that's what's been holding everything up. It tries to detect floppy, can't, and just freezes.

Unplug the ribbon cable, turn it 180 degrees, then plug it back in
__________________

__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 05:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Tried that earlier but ended up not getting any light on the floppy drive on boot-up. I'll gave it another go though.
__________________

casey is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 06:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Took a cable from another machine and no luck. The machine is not reading from the floppy. Is it possible that the connection point on the mobo is the problem? Or is that unlikely given that the light stays lit on the drive if the cable is the wrong way around. Also, should I at least be able to get BIOS info on the screen? As it stands nothing is being relayed to the monitor.
casey
casey is offline  
Old 10-04-2005, 09:49 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Default

Have you tried resetting your CMOS yet? It might be the problem. Try that first, then if that doesn't work, then it's probably your mobo.
__________________
ASUS A7N8X-E Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+
Zalman CNPS7000B-Cu
OCZ 1GB Platinum PC3200 Rev2 Dual Channel
ATI Radeon 9800 Pro
Enermax Noisetaker 485W
2 x 80GB SATA Maxtor Diamondmax 10 on RAID 0
shenlingstyle is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 04:53 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Yeah,
tried resetting the CMOS but no luck. At present as the machine goes through POST I get the lights on the keyboard and the DVD drive but not the floppy. Maybe the floppy is disabled in the BIOS. Anyway, I imagined I should get "something" on the monitor even if it was only the manufacturers logo. I am going to try another video card later today but keep the suggestions coming.
casey
casey is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 05:52 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 72
Default

is the 4-pin 12v connection in from psu?
__________________
Pentium Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4Ghz
4Ghz 1066 RAM
2x 500G SATA II HDD
GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS4
GeForce 8800GTS 320MG
Themaltake Armor

_______________________

Diploma in IT Computer Networking
Bachelor of Computer Science
chooka is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 06:52 AM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Yeah, thats in place.
casey
casey is offline  
Old 10-05-2005, 08:06 AM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 17
Default

I have set up a new topic in Hardware Troubleshooting titled "New PC no display" as it seems a better description of the present situation. Please reply to that topic. Thanks again for the help so far.
casey
__________________

casey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.