New PC build....HELP!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2007, 09:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default New PC build....HELP!!

I have a two week old PC that has been running great until today. First, the power supply (500W Earthwatts that comes with Sonata 3) went from being nice and quiet to roaring like a jet engine. It's maxed out, trying to do some serious cooling. I ignored it, and did what I planned to do today; install a PCI card with a parallel port (I forgot the printer was from the last Millenium, and the motherboard didn't have a parallel port). It set up just fine, and the printer worked great, when I noticed the LAN port was dead. I tried reinstalling drivers, but it's totally dead. Windows Device manager doesn't even show there is one. Then, I removed the case cover, and noticed a bright red LED on the motherboard (Asus P5K) indicating the PCI device is not properly installed. So I tried another slot. Same deal. I tossed the card back into it's box, and re-booted. The LAN is gone, and the power supply sounds like it'll blow up. I have no clue what to do at this point. Can anyone offer advice to this wannabe computer builder? It looks like a fried power supply and motherboard, but I'm not positive.

Thanks
__________________

neilt is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 09:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default Re: New PC build....HELP!!

are you overclocking ?
__________________

__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-08-2007, 11:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: New PC build....HELP!!

What are your full specs?
turtile is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 10:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
QuaziBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 660
Default Re: New PC build....HELP!!

If you have an extra PSU, or have a friend that wont mind lending you his for a few hours, plug it in to see if the old one was bad and not supplying enough power. This sort of thing can kill components. Throw your PCI card back in for poops n giggles to see if it will come online. Other wise if the new PSU has an internal fan speed controller wait for it to start up with itself again, if it doesn't its the old PSU, if it does its the MOBO.
Also be sure that the correct input voltage is selected on the back of the PSU.
__________________
Network Administrator /
Project Coordinator
Moli Industries LTD.
www.rapidts.com
QuaziBee is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 04:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default Re: New PC build....HELP!!

Thanks for the responses!

Joey1: No, I don't have the system overclocked.

turtile: Here are the system specs:
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
Motherboard: Asus P5K
Memory: 2GB Corsair XMS2 PC2 5400, dual channel
Case: Antec Sonata 3
Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 320GB, Sata2, 3gb/sec, 16mb cache
Video Card: Asus Geforce 7600GS
Sound: Soundblaster XFI
Operating System: XP pro

Quazibee: With further tinkering, I found that if I grabbed the cables coming out of the power supply and wiggled them, the fan would stop. Then Start. Then stop...and so did the hard drive. So I'll be RMA'ing the p.o.s. Hopefully the next one is better. As for the PCI card with parallel printer port, the company's website said it won't work with 3.3v PCI. How can I tell if the PCI slot is 3.3 volts? As for the LAN, I disconnected the USB add on, and the Lan came back to life. Go figure...maybe I had it hooked up wrong. I'll see what I can do with it today. I do have an extra power supply, but it'll be a pain to remove from the system it's in just for testing, especially since I need a new p/s, anyway. Arrgh, this is frustrating.
neilt is offline  
Old 07-09-2007, 11:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: New PC build....HELP!!

I'm surprised that the PSU would have connections that bad. They must not have very good quality control.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First build, suggestions asim8787 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 12-10-2007 07:13 AM
A good AMD build.. RisingFalls New Systems | Building and Buying 7 07-05-2007 07:00 PM
New build won't POST... couple quesitons dkh Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 06-29-2007 04:28 PM
a possible build, plz critique? funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 38 06-13-2007 05:53 PM
Should I add a raptor to my build? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 05-26-2007 01:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.