new pc bugs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-22-2006, 11:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default fan controller problem

i just finished putting everything together and installed in this order:
windows pro,video drivers,sp2,audio drivers,mobo drivers,upgraded all firmware.
then i had to get pci raid controller for my ide harddrives(mobo came with only one ide slot)
so i installed raid card
i also went and got a fan for northbridge and one case fan
now the problems:
1)mobo has 2system ,1cpu,1power fan connectors
and the speed control is all faqued up i cant even adjust cpu fan speed(speed control works on random)
2)i tried to use speedan HD tune and some other soft and as soon as i select slave drive from raid card the pc freezes completely
3)system fan1 connector is not even detected by windows but the fan runs full speed
system2 fan connector is detected but speed control doesnt work

im also using Silent Tek program that came with mobo and it doesnt work either (cant calibrate fans)

i mean this whole thing just drives me nuts
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 01:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Sounds like some configuration is bad. Explain something please. If you got a PCI raid card How are you using it? A raid setup like striped or mirrored?
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-23-2006, 02:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

none of that i dont have raid set up i just bought the card so i can get acess to my harddrives since i got all software on them and i dont know any other way
(mobo came with only primary IDE slot and i have my cdrom and system drive on it
the rest is that **** sata connectors
plus they re different size

but the startup screen keeps buggin me askin to create a raid set how can i get rid of that ?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-25-2006, 09:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

so i reformatted and reinstalled windows and got rid of raid pci card
installed all the drivers and updates along with chipsed drivers all the good stuff .

and same thing
sysfan-still not detected but spins
sysfan2 detects and spins but speed control is faqd up
power fan(hd fan) spins and detects but speed control faqd up
cpu fan spins at constant speed not able to adjust speed at all
i mean i tried every trick i know and still no change
is it possible that i burned my cpu fan when i accidentally misalligned the pins?
| | | |
oooo___<fan
_| | | |
_""""""""___<mobo

i wrote customer support but they havent ansvered yet

ohand yesterday the CPU fanjust stopped on random and i tried to calibrate it with silenttek and it gave me an error
im really frikkin confused and ****ed off
how can i check if winbond is working properly or if i got the right driver for it?
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 10:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

really need help here....
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 12:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

ok i switched around the fans and its not faulty cpu fan because it works when plugged in sysfan2 connector
so the cpu connector or mobo is faulty or bios is fuked up
because it still impossible to regulate cpu fan speed and sysfan1 is not detected
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.