New motherboard problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zachj06

Beta member
Hello, I am new with motherboards.

I have a stock compaq and I wanted to install a nforce650i ultra motherboard in it.

I hooked up all the cables, and I turn on the computer and it goes on, and the fan spins. Then the fan goes off in 5 seconds. Is it the power supply or?

Now, i put back my old motherboard in. Different processor. This time it says the fan has stopped working, press f2. Then I press f2 and it says "Reboot and select proper boot device or insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key"

WHAT DO I DO??

The processor/video fan is still on...

Hello, I am new with motherboards.

I have a stock compaq and I wanted to install a nforce650i ultra motherboard in it.

I hooked up all the cables, and I turn on the computer and it goes on, and the fan spins. Then the fan goes off in 5 seconds. Is it the power supply or?

Make sure that each time you remove the heatsink from the CPU, you clean the old thermal interface material off before applying new thermal interface material between the CPU heatsink and die of the CPU. Also ensure that the CPU heatsink is seated and fixed on top of the CPU correctly.

The system may be shutting off automatically because of the thermal protection, to prevent it from overheating.

Now, i put back my old motherboard in. Different processor. This time it says the fan has stopped working, press f2. Then I press f2 and it says "Reboot and select proper boot device or insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key"

WHAT DO I DO??

So after putting your old motherboard in, does the fan spin or not?

And as for the "Reboot and select proper boot device or insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key" this is either because the hard drive has not been connected properly (molex power cable or IDE cable) or because the hard drive has not been set as the 1st boot device in the BIOS options.