New motherboard problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 07-16-2007, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default New motherboard problem

Hello, I am new with motherboards.

I have a stock compaq and I wanted to install a nforce650i ultra motherboard in it.

I hooked up all the cables, and I turn on the computer and it goes on, and the fan spins. Then the fan goes off in 5 seconds. Is it the power supply or?

Old 07-16-2007, 11:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie

Default Re: New motherboard problem

Hello,

Need a bit more clarification. So the fan turns off but the system remains on?

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Old 07-16-2007, 11:49 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

The system turns off.
Old 07-16-2007, 11:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Now, i put back my old motherboard in. Different processor. This time it says the fan has stopped working, press f2. Then I press f2 and it says "Reboot and select proper boot device or insert Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key"

WHAT DO I DO??

The processor/video fan is still on...
Old 07-16-2007, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachj06 View Post
Hello, I am new with motherboards.

I have a stock compaq and I wanted to install a nforce650i ultra motherboard in it.

I hooked up all the cables, and I turn on the computer and it goes on, and the fan spins. Then the fan goes off in 5 seconds. Is it the power supply or?