New Motherboard, nothing loads - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2006, 01:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to jeffalltogether
Default New Motherboard, nothing loads

bought a new motherboard yesterday, transfered everything off my old mobo to my new one, when i turn it on, fans spin, lights go on, but nothing loads, my DVD drive wont open, i dont hear my HDD's spinning.
i reset my CMOS, tripple check the jumpers, still nothing.
i have no clue whats wrong, any ideas on what could be the problem?
__________________

jeffalltogether is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Its a grounding problem most likly.

Unattach everything but, Cpu, Video card and RAM, Take motherboard out of case and place on a hard surface then try booting.

Your next problem would probably be resolved by running a repair of windows by booting off the windows XP disc. (If we fix this problem first)
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to jeffalltogether
Default

alright, thanks for help, im going to try that when i get off of work.
jeffalltogether is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Remmeber to be very careful with all components. Before you open your case and touch anything inside, Make sure power is off and AC cord is out. Also ground yourself by touching something metal, preferably something far away from the PC.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to jeffalltogether
Default

yeah shocking it is a bad idea
jeffalltogether is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 04:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Well, you can't just simply swap out a motherboard with a new one and expect Windows to boot. Unless of course it is the same exact motherboard. (This is assuming you have a windows XP system)

Like ste said above, you'll need to do a Windows Repair or sometimes a format and reinstallation. Then install all of the new motherbaord drivers, along with all other needed drivers...
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.