new motherboard installed - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2010, 05:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default new motherboard installed

got my crosshair VI mother board installed, runs great no more hangs but im pretty sure my old mother board damaged my cpu. i get minor stuttering when booting when the windows logo starts to load it jumps and stutters and same with when i load games and benchmarks.

i moved so i have a few more options for computer stores and ways to test my parts now. gonna see if i can find some one that's got a am3 mother board so i can try swapping parts around and test em. and see if i cant find out whats damaged.

im just happy it doesn't take 30 mins to load the windows 7 setup anymore from boot. i had only one blue screen when i tried to oc but i think its either my memory or cpu that's damaged cause i got a memory management BSOD. so im keeping at stock speeds for now to test it, haven't had a crash yet at tock speeds so im happy.
__________________

__________________
Amd Phenom 2 955 3.9 ghz
Corsair Dominator 1700 mhz
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI formula
amd SAPPHIRE 6870
HAF 932 Full Tower
Corsair TX950W PSU
Windows 7 X64
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=70112&dateline=128146 3255[/SIGPIC]
Desolation is offline  
Old 06-15-2010, 06:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: new motherboard installed

Great, Desolation!

FYI, Tiger Direct may not have the best prices or products, but their main warehouse is in Chicago. I get products next day, with a 3-5 day shipping.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-15-2010, 06:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Re: new motherboard installed

i use tiger direct and new egg, i mostly use new egg for cables and things cause there cheap. and i use tiger direct for most of my parts bought every part for my computer from em. except my mother board got it for 4 bucks cheaper than tiger direct otherwise i would have ordered from em and i live in Wisconsin dells now so im only 3 hours from there warehouse.
__________________
Amd Phenom 2 955 3.9 ghz
Corsair Dominator 1700 mhz
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI formula
amd SAPPHIRE 6870
HAF 932 Full Tower
Corsair TX950W PSU
Windows 7 X64
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=70112&dateline=128146 3255[/SIGPIC]
Desolation is offline  
Old 06-15-2010, 07:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: new motherboard installed

Well, for cables, I use Monoprice. Good prices on every cable you can think of.

You're only 2 hours from my house I'm in southeast Racine, right near the Kenosha border
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 06-15-2010, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Desolation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 191
Send a message via MSN to Desolation
Default Re: new motherboard installed

nice thanks for the info have to check em out. ive been to busy lately to do much with my computer but im gonna be painting the inside black today, and painting small chrome strips behind my cold cathodes to refract the light from my red cold cathodes better. gonna be a bit of a pain to take all the tool free stuff out of my haf 932 case but o well the gray bugs me. its gonna look so much better once i get it all done, plus get to redo the cable management hopefully i can get it a little cleaner than it is, still looks good thou.


sweet i might be in Milwaukee this weekend at my brothers house. gonna go work on a few projects over at his place we've been working on his 80 mpg car hes got right now, and its not a hybrid thing is sweet.
__________________
Amd Phenom 2 955 3.9 ghz
Corsair Dominator 1700 mhz
ASUS CROSSHAIR VI formula
amd SAPPHIRE 6870
HAF 932 Full Tower
Corsair TX950W PSU
Windows 7 X64
[SIGPIC]http://www.techist.com/pc/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=70112&dateline=128146 3255[/SIGPIC]
Desolation is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just installed new motherboard Ethan_Kaizer New Systems | Building and Buying 26 11-12-2008 07:51 PM
Upgrading to a Newer Motherboard - Advice Needed Shyam Bhat New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-03-2008 10:56 AM
What Motherboard for my High Performance computer???? Jethro69 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 10-27-2008 04:24 PM
PC Build: Which Asus motherboard? (Ordering all parts in 24hours) DJ Redrum New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-09-2008 05:59 PM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.