New motherboard install problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2005, 12:53 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default New motherboard install problem...

Hello I tried to install a new motherboard and processor tonight, but ran into a bit of a problem. When I would boot up the computer I would go into the bios setting and select "optimized defaults" and save changes and exit. When the computer started to load windows I would lose all signal to the monitor? I would reset the bios and try adjusting some settings, but my vid card or monitor would not respond? I am using a AGP 8x card Geforce 5200,

The motherboard is a PC Chips M957G Socket 775 with a Celeron D 2.93ghz. Any help would be greatly appreciaited.

Thanks

Brent
__________________

bellis123 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 01:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

uhhhh couple of things here, You never made a mention of installing windows, so if your trying to use an exsisting windows installation it could be causing this problem. Secondly the motherboard has integrated graphics card that could cause some problems as well, make sure its disabled in the bios. There could be a half a dozen other little problems, but 1 or 2 at a time.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 09:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yes I am trying to use a existing windows install. So I will have reinstall windows and wipe everything out on my hard drives? Would I have to use a start up disk and partition and format the hard drive like in windows 98? I am using XP pro now and don't have a whole lot of expierience with it. Also I can't seem to find how to disable the onboard video in the Bios.

Thanks

Brent
bellis123 is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sui
uhhhh couple of things here, You never made a mention of installing windows, so if your trying to use an exsisting windows installation it could be causing this problem. Secondly the motherboard has integrated graphics card that could cause some problems as well, make sure its disabled in the bios. There could be a half a dozen other little problems, but 1 or 2 at a time.
1) Read the manual....no on-baord graphics....highly unlikely anyway.
2) Put in your XP CD and go into setup. When prompted, do a windows repair. You won't lose andy files but you will need to reinstall all of your hardware drivers. Once you are back into windows, download the most current Nvidia drivers.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 11-02-2005, 04:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6
Default Thanks for the info...

I will go ahead and give that a try when I get some more time since I had to put my old motherboard back in to make this post, lol.

Thanks

Brent
bellis123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.