New Mobo, Same Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2006, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182
Default New Mobo, Same Problem

This is a follow-up to this post

Basically, I have an Intel D865PERL mobo and p4 2.8 I was building a 'hand-me-down' rig from. Installed everything - started up, fans spin, no beeps, but no video. Thought it might be the vid card but a replacement yielded the same result. So, after some troubleshooting we determined it was the mobo.

Ordered a basic micro-atx biostar mobo with onboard video. Got it today and hooked up the basics - cpu, 1 stick of ram and psu. Power on, same thing!!! Fans spin, NO beeps, NO video signal. So unless something crazy is going on and the same problem is on 2 mobos, it's not the mobo .. it's not the vid card (tried with onboard and the same vid card), it's not the ram b/c i've tried 4 diff sticks I know work fine. Could it be the CPU? It was working fine before I took it out of the old rig and I did everything by the book. What are some signs that the CPU is shot? Could it be the PSU, even though it's giving power to the fans?

ANY advice would be greatly appreciated. This is supposed to be a christmas present for my father in-law, and I still need to get everything installed and running correctly after I get the **** thing actually working. I'm sure there are more details I can give, so just let me know if I can elaborate any.

Thanks in advance!

regeisle is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 07:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Virginia
Posts: 182

OK, apparently it WAS the psu. For future reference, could someone explain how a PSU could give power to the board (mobo lights on, fans spin, opticals and hd work) but not let it post? I had an old Antec 420w lyin around that I decided to drop in and it went right into bios. The other psu was the Antec 350 that came with the Solutions case. I know they've been having some issues with psu's lately, but I figured it would either NOT work at all, or work fine. Something I did just notice with the 350 - it's a 20 pin, and 1 of the 20 holes appears to not have a gold "socket/tube" in it. Could this let it power up some things but not send enough juice for post? Thanks for reading through, glad my christmas gift won't be a boring empty beige case

regeisle is offline  
Old 12-06-2006, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748

Power supplies can die hard or easy. You probably just lost on leg of power. Cause it puts out several voltages. 12V 5V 3V so the fans can still run but you could have lost the 12 V part. I have a little tool for checking power supplies. Cost me $12.00 bucks.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.