new mobo progress - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2006, 08:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default new mobo progress

well i jus got in my new mobo and i hooked up a pentium d 805 to it and everything hooked up. it doesnt turn on. i start just messing around untill i realized it works without the aditional 4 pin power, like theirs a 24 pin connector then theirs also anothe 4 pin located in a different spot. so it turns on powers running through fans and hdd but not dvd drive and i hear no beeps or see no boot up screen.

mobo http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813135225
i looked in the manuel its compatible and supports the 533 fsb
ram just some gigaram 667ddr2 ram a gig of it
video 7800gt pny
cpu pentium d 805

so if anyone had this problem please help me
__________________

__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 09:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

the 4 pin powers the CPU ...make sure the red switch on your PSU is set to 110v not 220....i had the exact same problem when i built my P4 rig
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 06-02-2006, 05:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

its set to 110 and i hooked the 4 pin back up it still doesnt boot when its hooked up. could it be my pentium d?
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Old 06-03-2006, 10:02 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 711
Default

so now i can get it to turn on with my my 4 pin power connector hooked up and my 25 pin and the additional 4 pin dongle and my pci x 6 pin hooked up. but i still dont see a screen or hear beeps. could it be my video card or my cpu now? ive also tryed switching psu and that didnt work. i couldnt even get ti to turn on with ther otehr one of same watts
__________________

IYAOYAS...lol
æArchOAngelæ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.