New Mobo & HDD problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2006, 11:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 25
Question New Mobo & HDD problem

I have a T2825 E-machines Desktop computer and the motherboard recently got fried by a power surge!
I removed Old Mobo (Nvidia Nforce2 AU31) and replaced with a New Mobo (K7MNF-64)
I also installed a new 80GB WD (Enhanced IDE Hard Drive) in place of the old 120GB WD Hard Drive.
The rest of the hardware is the same that the computer came with.
AMD Athlon XP 2800+ - Cpu
512MB DDR PC2700 CL2.5 333mhz - Ram

OK.....So here's my problem............When I go to install windows from CD everything goes just fine it
formats & copies files from windows install disc, but when it goes to reboot to finish install the computer
goes right back into the windows setup mode not asking to "press any key to boot from cd"...etc.
If I remove the disc and try to bypass so it doesn't restart the windows install i get these errors:

PXE-E53: No Boot Filename Received
PXE-M0F: Exiting NVIDIA Boot Agent

These errors show up after some copyright,copyright,DHCP & Mac FFFFFFFF-FFFF-FFFF-FFFF
stuff appears.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank You!

Rob S.

robqx4 is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 11:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,954

Try putting your old HD back in, booting from the Windows CD and doing a repair to get Windows to work with your new mobo.

If it works, you can use Ghost to transfer everything (including the Master Boot Record) to the new drive.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-30-2006, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533

get into bios , search for "boot from pxe/network boot" or similar and disable it , also make sure the boot order is set properly.. the hd first then the optical & floppy if you have otherwise just disable the 3rd device , obviously you dont need the optical first anymore cuz you alredy did the first step of the install , and usally after windows setup restarts you should just set the hd first and leave the cd in until its all done
jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.