New mobo had to reinstall xp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2005, 08:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default New mobo had to reinstall xp

Ok i'm posting this just for knowledge I reinstalled windows and it's happy.. I'm just curious what would cause this.

Prior to changing mobos I removed drivers and everything

I switched from a chaintech VNf3-250 to an asus k8n (both nforce3 250)

I unsderstand that switching the mobos makes windows screw up and not boot.. I'm just curious What exactly normally fails when booting? Is it the IRQ settings for the mobo chips?

howver I previously changed this system from a MSI k7n420 PRO (socket A) and an amd 1600+

to a vnf3-250 with sempron 2800+ with no problem..

why it work last time and not this time?
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Windows XP installs specific drivers for the motherboard. (it automatically detects it). Once installed it will load these drivers every time. (SATA, IDE, PCI...)

Windows ME, 98, 95 all will work without reinstallation since they will pick up the new devices and install new drivers once you start the computer with the new parts up.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 11-10-2005, 10:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

IDE controller driver.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-11-2005, 03:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 359
Default

cool, thx for the info
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
kiyotaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.