new mobo and cpu wont boot. - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2010, 11:31 PM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Default Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

I can't edit my recent post anymore. Well i was able to install XP, then installed my 7 upgrade. Windows 7 was working fine until it froze a little after I installed video drivers. Now when I reboot the Windows 7 opening screen comes up but then the screen turns black. Could this be caused by my graphics card? Or was it just coincidence that my pc froze soon after I installed the video drivers.

*** after rebooting I entered"launch Windows repair " and got a bsod PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA 0x00000050
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 01:34 AM   #22 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

Try checking this out and see if this helps abit.
The computer may automatically restart, or you may receive a "serious error" message or a Stop error message in Windows Server 2003, in Windows XP, or in Windows 2000
Also yes "I" think it is the video cards fault mainly because of the drivers itself.
You wil need to look into getting a stable and official pair of video card drivers to work with windows 7.
Sometimes windows 7 will nut up if it doesn't like any old or beta drivers that it can't support.
It's almost like windows xp sp1 before micrsoft noticed the problems and began sp2 to fix a few things to xp.
__________________

-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 03:04 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Default Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

So should I buy an ATI card and see if that'll work?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 03:28 PM   #24 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahiv87 View Post
IOr was it just coincidence that my pc froze soon after I installed the video drivers.
First, do what you can to get the video card working within windows 7 by looking for supported drivers for windows 7.
If you can't find any and the video card is messed up, then you might want to look into getting a new ati video card for your pc that will surely support windows 7.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 03:47 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 26
Send a message via AIM to MasterRex Send a message via MSN to MasterRex
Default Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahiv87 View Post
I can't edit my recent post anymore. Well i was able to install XP, then installed my 7 upgrade.
Uhm, what? Perhaps I'm blissfully ignorant, but I didn't think that one could simply 'upgrade' from XP to 7.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahvi87
Test stopped @ %58 PASS with 5:30 minutes. Tested other stick, stopped at Pass 30%, 2:35mins.
Did you stop the tests yourself, or... ? Memory errors don't always make themselves apparent immediately; you should be letting the test cycle through at least three times. Also, what memory testing utility are you using? If you don't have it already, find 'Hiren's Boot CD'. It's available via http download (google it), but I won't post a hyperlink here as I'm somewhat unfamiliar with the posting ordinance of this forum. When you burn the image, you'll find that there are a number of different diagnostic utilities. I've always used (and recommend) 'The Troubleshooter'. It's an all-in-one utility that makes life easy! Let the memory diagnostics run for an [i]hour(or till the test has passed through a few times)[i] and see if there are any errors reported.

Oh yeah, and your RAM is not explicitly supported. Gigabyte's website mentions that DDR3 1600MHz is only supported via overclocking. Memory timings are not the nicest things to play with - If you continue to have problems, look into replacing your RAM with one of the frequencies supported by default (2200/1333/1066/800).
MasterRex is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 08:13 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Default Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MasterRex View Post
Uhm, what? Perhaps I'm blissfully ignorant, but I didn't think that one could simply 'upgrade' from XP to 7
I was using the upgrade from XP with my other system, you have to click "custom install " I used memtest86 to check my ram.

Mikefury, I've used my 275 with Windows 7 before, had no problems.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 09:44 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Red face Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mahiv87 View Post
I was using the upgrade from XP with my other system, you have to click "custom install " I used memtest86 to check my ram.

Mikefury, I've used my 275 with Windows 7 before, had no problems.
Sorry about then, I think misread your last post a little bit.
Still though if you can get the video card to work with the correct drivers or not start looking into investung for a new video card.
I mostly prefer ATI cards but nvidias graphics card will do you just fine either way.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 04:12 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Default Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFuryXP View Post
Sorry about then, I think misread your last post a little bit.
Still though if you can get the video card to work with the correct drivers or not start looking into investung for a new video card.
I mostly prefer ATI cards but nvidias graphics card will do you just fine either way.
Yeah, but my problem now is XP not completing the install.
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 06:17 PM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: n/a
Posts: 2,956
Default Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

Have you tried a different XP CD, sometimes for the sake of god's love, windows CD/DVD's have trouble starting up or nearly completiing without a screw up....
Look at the CD and make sure there are no marks,scratches smudges on the CD.
That can sometimes be the reason why your computer cannot finish up the installation CD process.
-RockMan- is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 06:47 PM   #30 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Default Re: new mobo and cpu wont boot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFuryXP View Post
Have you tried a different XP CD, sometimes for the sake of god's love, windows CD/DVD's have trouble starting up or nearly completiing without a screw up....
Look at the CD and make sure there are no marks,scratches smudges on the CD.
That can sometimes be the reason why your computer cannot finish up the installation CD process.
I have no other XP cd, but i tried installing Ubuntu and i got and error message at %60ish complete saying the files couldnt be copied due to faulty cd/dvd drive or hard disk. i am trying to install Ubuntu on a different hdd than XP so maybe its my cd/dvd drive.

PS: When installing XP during the "Saving Settings" part(4mins left) is when the installation stops. The screen just goes black and my pc becomes unresponsive, HDD and ODD seem to stop also.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Here ye Here ye I need a cpu cooling solution but more importantly your advice Kyrone Overclocking and Modding 8 07-18-2009 12:13 AM
Phenom x4 work on my Mobo? M4A1 System Upgrades 10 06-03-2009 04:24 PM
I think I cooked my cpu and mobo jfenwick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-03-2008 09:18 PM
Need new mobo and/or CPU dude112 System Upgrades 2 08-17-2008 12:03 PM
new mobo or cpu or both... Dainius New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-19-2008 10:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.