new mobo.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2006, 07:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default new mobo..

Well, my sis's mobo fried and i got a different model and put it in its case. I told my dad that i have to take out her hdd, set it as slave, copy data to my hdd, set it back to master, put windows on it, then take it back out as a slave to put her data back on it and then set it as slave again for her comp.... so my dad wouldnt loose the data... he said that the mobo manual didnt say to do this.. and he said he wanted proof.. so have at it guys.. he just wants a yes or no answer
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 928
Send a message via MSN to dawizhacker
Default

JUST to be on the safe side, copy all the important stuff from your dads drive to a cd or dvd, or just in case send it to your self thought gmail.

Other wise from what i have known you have a very very very slim chance of lossing both of your data.

If your dad has like office work of something i wouldn't risk it, caz i did it once and totaly crapped out...

YES, but make a few diffrent backups. CD DVD EMAIL ECT
__________________

__________________
Casual (AMD 4000+ x4) (Stock mobo) (750 Gig + 8 TB Xternal) (150 RAPTOR) (9800GT OC x2)
(OCZ PowerStream 800 Watt) (2G OCZ) (XP/Vista)
____________________________________________
Torrenter (1.05GHZ) (Stock mobo) (250GiG) (9200 Radion) (Stock PSU) (768MB) (XP)
____________________________________________
Laptop (Intel Core 2 Duo @ 2.8Ghz) (2G) (8600GT) (XP/Vista) (500GiG)
dawizhacker is offline  
Old 02-14-2006, 01:01 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

no just family get together pictures and stuff like that.. and a few gigs of music.. im just gunna do my slave idea, or create a new partition when installing windows

time for bed
~Static
Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.