New Memory problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-16-2008, 01:28 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 142
Send a message via AIM to Niverive Send a message via MSN to Niverive Send a message via Yahoo to Niverive
Default New Memory problem

Hey this is about my room mates computer, he bought a new 1GB stick of Kingston DDR2 667MHz ram today, and when he puts it in his computer and turns it on, the fans startup, the lights come on and everything, but nothing pops up on the screen, his fan is kinda loud so its hard to tell 100% but I think there is no hard drive activity either. Any suggestions would be helpful, he has another 1GB stick in the other slot, and currently has a 512MB in that slot he was putting the 1GB in and it works fine like that.

OS: Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit
MOBO: ASUS M3N72-D (AM2+ Socket) CPU: AMD Phenom II 965 x4 Memory: 2GBx2 800 DDR2 Ram
Video: 8600GT OC Sound: SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio PSU: Thermaltake Toughpower 750W
Niverive is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 02:15 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,059
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: New Memory problem

Try running the pc with just the new stick of ram in, if it doesn't work you've got a dodgy stick. If possible, try and get it replaced.

"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-16-2008, 02:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
carnageX's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 23,147
Default Re: New Memory problem

Make sure its in the slot tight/all the way too. I know I hadn't inserted a RAM stick all the way in a build I did for a friend, and it wouldn't boot up (only fans/etc would power on, but it wouldn't POST). Otherwise, like Soul said, you may have a bad stick.
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory speed related to Overclocking Wease Overclocking and Modding 2 01-22-2008 09:04 PM
Bad Memory Captain Murphy Overclocking and Modding 2 11-06-2007 08:39 PM
GeForce FX5200 problem frog3764 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-16-2007 01:36 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-25-2007 11:03 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:02 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.