New HDD Not Appearing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2007, 04:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default New HDD Not Appearing

i have just bought a new 320GB SATA Harddrive. i plan on copying all the data over to the new HDD from my current 80GB IDE drive. i have installed the raid drivers under windows XP for the new harddrive, and i have started windows XP setup in DOS so that it can install the Drivers on the drive itself. the Drive will still not appear under My Computer. what do i do?
__________________

__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 04:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New HDD Not Appearing

Does it appear under Disk Management?

Run>compmgmt.msc
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 05:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: New HDD Not Appearing

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
Does it appear under Disk Management?

Run>compmgmt.msc
No it doesn't. i dont understand why not though. ive installed the drivers and everything, and checked hardware and it shows the controller and the driver. when i put it in a little bubble popped up in the bottom right.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 06:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New HDD Not Appearing

Does it show up in bios? If you plan on using it as the boot device you will have to reinstall anyway. There is no way that i know of to transfer a windows install from one drive to another. What brand of drive is it? When i reinstalled windows monday i put windows on a 30gb partition of my 160 and the other 120gb didnt show up until i ran the seagate disc after installing windows.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 07:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: New HDD Not Appearing

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Does it show up in bios? If you plan on using it as the boot device you will have to reinstall anyway. There is no way that i know of to transfer a windows install from one drive to another. What brand of drive is it? When i reinstalled windows monday i put windows on a 30gb partition of my 160 and the other 120gb didnt show up until i ran the seagate disc after installing windows.
theres special software used for cloning disks.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 07:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Kutabare
Default Re: New HDD Not Appearing

You have to create a partition for the new drive. Go to control panel -> administrative tools -> computer management -> disk management and trace your new hard drive and create a new partition for it.
__________________
What does Kutabare mean sir?
Kutabare is offline  
Old 08-16-2007, 07:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: New HDD Not Appearing

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kutabare View Post
You have to create a partition for the new drive. Go to control panel -> administrative tools -> computer management -> disk management and trace your new hard drive and create a new partition for it.
yeah great. i JUST said it isn't in disk management.
__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Old 08-17-2007, 04:18 AM   #8 (permalink)
Web Programmer
 
murdocsvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 896
Default Re: New HDD Not Appearing

okay it works now. i found the only way to get it to appear was to run through the XP installation + pressing F6 right at the begginning so it would be able to see the motherboard. then it showed thew 320GB with no partition, so it turns out thats all i needed to do. i assumed that the drive already came with a partition.
__________________

__________________
PHP + MYSQL, ASP.Net + C# with SQL, WCF, Python, XHTML + CSS, HTML5, JavaScript, jQuery, Flash + ActionScript 3, XML, SVG.

Web Developer Portfolio
murdocsvan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.