New Hdd, No startup. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2006, 06:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186
Default New Hdd, No startup.

My brother has been bugging me to get his computer fixed. It wouldnt startup, it was pretty much hopeless from my diagnostics. But that isnt the problem.

I have another computer that I used in order for him to at least have a PC to use. The PC had an old graphics card, no network card, and I pretty much killed the hard drive.

So I took the working parts out of his broken PC. His hard drive, his graphics card, and his Wireless Card.

It has no problem with the graphics card, and the wireless card is no problem at the moment.

The hard Drive however has a problem. Or something along those lines. I cant seem to run an XP, 98, or even a 95 install disk on the PC. When I start up the PC normally it says it had a problem booting. It shows the menu of what to do (Safe mode, Last Known good configuration, start windows normally, etc. . .) and none of the options work.

So my question is how do I get it to work properly. Wether it is a new install or booting into windows. This PC has a floppy drive just so you know.

phandentium is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

YOu have to do a fresh install of XP. You cannot load windows from an old install on "new" (used or not) hardware. If you were able to get it to boot, the blue screen of death would be your next view. Reformat and reinstall!!!!!

Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186

I already said that I cant use an XP install disk at all.
phandentium is offline  
Old 06-19-2006, 10:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Content Team
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 186

Ok, I see that it is only Windows install disks that wont work. I used an Ubuntu install disk in order to format everything, but when I put in Xp, it says no boot devices found.
phandentium is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.