New HDD - Getting CRC and Deep Path errors?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2009, 08:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default New HDD - Getting CRC and Deep Path errors??

Hi everyone, first post from myself.
Got a bit of a new hardware problem with my desktop.
Recently lost my HDD along with all my music, movies, photos etc.

I bought A new HDD and fitted it myself (its a Seagate 3.5" IDE) Im not particularly techie, but managed to do this ok I think.
I then set about replacing all my lost data so got down to some heavy downloading.

I also had around 20gig of music on my I-River which I wanted to transfer to my HDD.
The first few folders copied over no problem but then I started to get the following errors.

Data error (cyclic redundancy check)

Cannot copy the path is too deep.

Also when I restarted the PC I got a message about repairing clusters that seemed to freeze at about 13%

As I said I am no techie whatsoever, there are two things that I can think of that may be a problem.

When I done a fresh Windows install on my new HDD, I made the partition wrong and ended up with a 10gig HDD and 70gig of unallocated space.
I tried to fix this and now have the small 10 gig drive which has all My Documents, Program Files etc and a seperate e:drive with my other 70 gig
which I have been using for storing all music files etc. Could this be causing any problems.

Also when installing Windows I opted for FAT32 instead of NTFS, I wasn't really sure what I was doing at this point
as I had nothing to reference.

Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks.
__________________

dev_765 is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 09:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New HDD - Getting CRC and Deep Path errors??

The problem is you used FAT32. That has a file limit size of 4GB. So if you try to copy anything more than that over at once, you will get this problem. you need to format to NTFS or convert the file system to NTFS in order to stop this.

How to convert a FAT16 volume or a FAT32 volume to an NTFS file system in Windows XP
How to Convert FAT Disks to NTFS

I would guess that you are using XP since Vista and Win7 dont allow for install to FAT32 by default.

Convert it to NTFS by either the links or a format and reinstall and you will resolve your issue.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 05:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: New HDD - Getting CRC and Deep Path errors??

Hi, thanks for the quick reply. I checked, and the 70 Gb partition is actually NTFS. I did however convert the 10Gb partition to NTFS and am still getting the errors.

Any other ideas?
dev_765 is offline  
Old 12-14-2009, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New HDD - Getting CRC and Deep Path errors??

Run chkdsk /r /f on the drive. Along with sfc /scannow to ensure that there is no drive issues and the files are not corrupted.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.