New HDD, blue screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-07-2011, 02:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Default New HDD, blue screen

Have new mobo (AM2+, DDR2), CPU (AM2+), RAM (DDR2, 1GB x 2), 450W PS and HDD (WD 250GB SATA). Installed XP (and all drivers) and PC worked for 7 hrs yesterday. Booted PC today and got blue screen, said there were errors. Can't get into Safe Mode (blue screen) and tried repairing XP with XP CD - it loaded files then got blue screen. Loaded Fail Safe Defaults in BIOS and cleared CMOS with no change. Forgot how to use CHKDSK - did it last week on another hard drive - thought it was on XP CD or in Safe Mode w/Command Prmpt but can't find it. Can another component like mobo, CPU, RAM besides the HDD cause blue screen? BIOS parameter prevent Windows from loading? Don't know where to start.
__________________

cool9 is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: New HDD, blue screen

What Stop error are you getting in that BSOD? That will tell us more of what your problem is.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 06:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New HDD, blue screen

Set the hard drive settings in bios to legacy just to get that out of the way. I had issue with a few machines here at work that would actually start to boot, but then crash on me when I had the bios set wrong, even with the updated sata drivers.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 06:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: New HDD, blue screen

Stop code 0x0000007B which is "Inaccessible Boot Device". I can't get into Safe mode to fixboot, system restore, CHKDSK or use XP CD to repair Windows. I'll try Legacy switch. Yes, they start to boot - get Windows screen for milli-second then the blue screen. Thx.
cool9 is offline  
Old 02-07-2011, 11:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: New HDD, blue screen

I changed Sata mode to IDE in BIOS and it worked. I got into Windows no problem. Holy, **** took me a long time to find that - 4 days. Thanks
cool9 is offline  
Old 02-10-2011, 06:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: New HDD, blue screen

Sadly it's usually the simplest thing that gets overlooked that causes the problem
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blue Screen Natalie105 Microsoft Windows and Software 33 02-24-2009 01:10 PM
Blue Screen mahiv87 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 11-25-2008 11:11 PM
Help my screen is going blue mrkarter77 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-18-2007 11:58 AM
another blue screen D4RK GR4YL3N Microsoft Windows and Software 6 01-26-2004 10:27 AM
blue screen aj2003 Overclocking and Modding 2 01-25-2004 03:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.