New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-14-2009, 11:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
Default New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

I have an OEM W.D Caviar 640gb HDD and it came without the lil plastic thing that configures jumper setting. Are they supposed to come with one? I would assume so.
__________________

newbiebuilderguy is offline  
Old 01-14-2009, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

If it is OEM then there is no guarantee that it will. OEM comes as is with just the drive. So it could be very well likely that the jumper was either removed or fell off at the warehouse.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 12:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

Is that an ide or sata drive? If ide take one off any older drive you bought retail or look in the retail box itself. Generally they stick a small bag with 4 extras in it there.

Sata I type drives see a mode switch jumper either left at the default position or removed for use in desktops. I doubt a 640gb model is the Sata I type however.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 12:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

Quote:
Originally Posted by newbiebuilderguy View Post
I have an OEM W.D Caviar 640gb HDD and it came without the lil plastic thing that configures jumper setting. Are they supposed to come with one? I would assume so.
I referred to this over here, and even gave you the link to check for yourself. If you go there and check the link you will see what I said is true. Here is the thread post with the referring link:

First Build , Cpu Fan Probs

Western Digital PDF file
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 12:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

For a Sata II type drive you don't need a jumper simply drop it in and run it. The jumper block is used for changing transfer modes not for general use on desktops. I run a pair of Sata II drives here without any jumper since that sets the default automatically.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 01:04 AM   #6 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

I already said you dont need a jumper, and gave a link to show the OP.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 01:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

If you were working with the old Sata I type you would there however. The jumper on those was for changing drive modes where the drives were shipped with the jumper set to the default position.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 01:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 2,363
Default Re: New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

You don't need it. If you're using SATA drives you don't need a jumper. I thought you would need one to make a SATA 300 drive work with a SATA 150 computer, but it worked fine without, even switching to the slower speed. If it's IDE, pull one off of your motherboard (if there are spares) or other hard drives. You may be able to configure it without a jumper inserted using cable select or making your other drive either master or slave (depending what your new drive sets itself to without a jumper).
__________________

CalcProgrammer1 is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 01:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
If you were working with the old Sata I type you would there however. The jumper on those was for changing drive modes where the drives were shipped with the jumper set to the default position.
Not all old SATA drives had them though.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 01-15-2009, 03:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: New Hard Drive W/o Jumper Shunt

Quote:
Originally Posted by hikaricloud View Post
Not all old SATA drives had them though.
That depends on who made them for what application desktop or server.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Playststion 3 Hard drive upgrade guide (56k warning, plenty of photos) solidsteve Sony Playstation 9 08-20-2008 10:18 AM
Hard drive randomly disappearing Gooms9 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 11 05-18-2007 08:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.