'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives" - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-14-2010, 05:00 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Default Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

Western Digital HDD-s have jumper setting when he is master and slave is present , and when you completly remove jumper (no jumper is present) he works alone and presence of second hdd will block detection like you described.....
__________________

ZRMaster is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 05:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

Uhh.. WD doesn't have a gender. j/k

If you put it on CS (Cable Select), it will detect what it is by the cable'd devices.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 05:31 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 19
Thumbs up Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

i know my english is bad ..... yes cs should work on some models this should help:

if there is no jumper and other one is slave then both are slave and error occurs...
ZRMaster is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 10:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

Test?

MindoverMaster: It could very well be a PoS.

I tried to post 4 times today, but it kept saying a mod had to check it or something (random)

but, my model is LC-B450E.

I keep trying to post a link to a pic from Google Images cuz because they have the info on there, but that must be what is making my post not work. So if someone could just puit that into google images and then tell me if this may be the cause that would be great. (sorry)
RobertM24 is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 10:36 PM   #15 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

This the model? Xion LC-B450E :: Professional 450W ATX PC Power Supply [LC-B450E] - $59.99 : E-Tech eShop Shopping Network

Seems to be a 450. I dont think you are low on power.

You can't copy a pic directly from google, that is just a shortcut to a picture. You need to click on the pic, will go to a new page, THEN you can copy.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 08:00 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
This the model? Xion LC-B450E :: Professional 450W ATX PC Power Supply [LC-B450E] - $59.99 : E-Tech eShop Shopping Network

Seems to be a 450. I dont think you are low on power.

You can't copy a pic directly from google, that is just a shortcut to a picture. You need to click on the pic, will go to a new page, THEN you can copy.
Okay thanks for the tip on posting pics.

This one seems to have the same info as the sticker. Any other ideas? or do you think that it just got messed up in the low level format
RobertM24 is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 11:33 AM   #17 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

If it is an old pc (old motherboard) it may not support disks larger than 40GB.
You would have to install a PCI-IDE controller.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 11:36 AM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

Didn't P3 or P4 and beyond support over 40GB?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 11:39 AM   #19 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

Yes, the P3/4 motherboards should. Is it a P3/4?

The best way is to read the motherboards manual.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-15-2010, 11:49 AM   #20 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: 'New' Hard drive - Computer Stuck at "Detecting IDE Drives"

Well, you should know what it is if it was custom made. Otherwise, you can look up the model online pretty fast.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Virtual" Hard Drives That Span Multiple Physical Drives? SpikedCola Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-24-2010 02:37 PM
Hard Drive doesn't show up under "My Computer" White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 12 11-11-2008 08:14 PM
Windows Vista computer, is stuck right now at "Shutting down..." screen jonathanwest Microsoft Windows and Software 4 08-07-2007 05:49 PM
[WIN XP] Primary Hard Drive Letter from "I" to "C" Harper Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 07-07-2004 06:05 AM
New hard drive doesn't show in "my computer"!! Plebz Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 05-11-2004 11:00 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.