new guy with trouble with his new computer build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2008, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default new guy with trouble with his new computer build

Hey,I am new to this forum also since I can't get the right answers from certain people,maybe you guys can help.
I started to build a whole new computer again the set up I have is:
biostar gf8200 mobo.
transcend 2gig 1 stick pc6400
550watt ultra powersupply
amd dual core 4400 processor
8800gts ko card

The situation I am having is nothing is displaying on the lcd monitor even though I tried the integrated video and the 8800gts card.
I returned the xfx 8200 motherboard for exchange of biostar board
The cpu had bent pins in them,I was able to get a exchange on that.
all the connections are correct since I had a certified tigerdirect technician looked at my connections,he said the powersupply was good since it started up anyways of the cpu fan spinning.I would appreciate the help seriously.I have tried everything possible of getting things exchange and still having the same issue.
__________________

burzumaske20 is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 06:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: new guy with trouble with his new computer build

Did the tigerdirect guy look at all of your connections? Do you have all power connections connected? Is it booting up and 'thinking' but nothing is displaying? Or is it actually just powering on for a split second allowing the fans to turn maybe once then stop?

If it doesn't start up look at either a faulty connection (either not properly connected or bad wiring) or a bad MB / processor.

Does your MB or case have a speaker? If so are you getting any beeps? If they dont have a speaker it would be worth getting one of those small portable ones to see if you are getting an error code.

Also look at your connections from the case to the MB. Could have a power lead cable incorrectly connected.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 07:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: new guy with trouble with his new computer build

When I took the computer to the guy from tigerdirect the first thing he looked at was the connections and said they were all correct.I know they were correct but good to have a computer tech look to make sure.It is turning on the cpu fan .dvd rom drive,harddrive on with no problems.The power supply fan is spinning as well,the 8800gts card is connected correctly with the 6 pin and the fan is spinning as well..The first cpu had bent pins and I got a exchange on that and I checked to make sure there was no bent pins or broken pins on the oem processor.The little lever went down normally with out forcing the cpu into the am2 socket.The tigerdirect technician even tried to do the integrated video on another monitor and that didn't work either.My one friend keeps telling me it is the powersupply where it might be getting some sort of low voltage possible.This was a exchange motherboard which I had a xfx 8200 board the first,now I have the biostar gf8200.Would you think there is some sort of shortage going on with my computer case since its from 2003?
burzumaske20 is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: new guy with trouble with his new computer build

your case is just a case. it shouldn't interfere with anything unless a contact is being touched by a metal piece from the case
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 07:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: new guy with trouble with his new computer build

ok that is what I thought about the case situation.I exchanged the cpu and motherboard already.What made me wonder is when I took the memory out to see if there was any long beeping sound and there was nothing.My case doesn't have a speaker or anything like that to hear any beeps ,but on my old set up if I didn't have the memory or anything else wasn't hooked up right,it would make a beeping sound then.I mean could it narrow down to that microatx boards are not as good as full size boards,exchange the powersupply for something else,or change the memory to a 2gig 1 stick of patriot 667mhz?
burzumaske20 is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 09:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: new guy with trouble with his new computer build

i always like 2 sticks of ram if your mb supports Dual channel which is always good. dont forget to check MB compatible memory you may have got a stick it doesnt like at all
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 10:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Default Re: new guy with trouble with his new computer build

the motherboard handles 16gigs of memory I checked through it,it didn't have a page on what kind of memory it likes.It shows it holds the 128/256/512/1gig/2gig/4gig.I could exchange it for a patriot memory or something of the same price and possible switch for a 630watt power supply
__________________

burzumaske20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
Computer build problem.. Jawnskeel System Upgrades 22 08-26-2008 01:04 AM
computer build PSU? pilotguy121a New Systems | Building and Buying 9 07-06-2008 11:54 PM
Problem installing vista on newly build Computer Proedge Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-14-2008 07:27 PM
Build the best possible computer using only $600? Iron Angel New Systems | Building and Buying 20 12-15-2007 04:28 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.