New GB board I/O uncooperative - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-20-2009, 03:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default New GB board I/O uncooperative

WTH.... This is what I get for switching brands??!

I installed a new Gigabyte MB GA790GP MoBo, go to fire it up, no mouse, no keyboard. Ok, I gotten enable some USB stuff in the BIOS....

Nope... Nothing is working. I enabled mouse MS-DOS, no workey... Reset the mouse, no workey.... Enabled MS-DOS keyboard, no keybord now.. I switched to a hardwired keypad... But my USB keyboard still no workey, tried switching ports, no luck....

I'm getting tired and ticked off... I'll check this in the morning or call their tech support...

TIA for any help, tho..
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 12:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: New GB board I/O uncooperative

What are the other specs on the pc?
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: New GB board I/O uncooperative

ULTRA X3 1000W PSU
Liquid cooled CPU & 4870 1g
Phenom 9950 (will OC it to where it was when I get it running)
Win XP 64b Pro

I replaced the MoBo, PSU and air cooling items in my sig with what I just listed.

I love ur sig, dood!!! 'The Dood abides..'. Awesome movie!
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-20-2009, 01:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: New GB board I/O uncooperative

Ha, thanks, The Big Lebowski is my favorite movie.

Are you using the same hard drive? If so, a major change like a different motherboard, requires a reformat or a repair install of windows. Because the old drivers and such won't be compatible with your new motherboard.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 01:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: New GB board I/O uncooperative

Oh! Sweet! That does make a lot of sense. I got the OS running yesterday, but it kept crashing on me.

I'm installing Win XP32b on my new 750g storage HDD just to get the system running... I'll have to play hopscotch with the HD's just so I can grab stuff off my original OS HD. Then I'll reformat my 500g, and transfer stuff again, then wipe my storage 750.

But it seems to have now froze.. I also tried poping the MoBo disk in, but that didn't do anything either.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: New GB board I/O uncooperative

a fresh install is needed for a mobo change. a repair install can be done at the min, but it most likely will not be as stable as a fresh install.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 02:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: New GB board I/O uncooperative

^ Yea if that doesn't work then try this:

Check for Disk Errors in Windows XP
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 12:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: New GB board I/O uncooperative

It's running now. I installed XP64, then the 4870 drivers, now it won't STAY running. Something about that GPU driver disk is causing it to crash. The bios is set to optomised defaults.

It ran fine before that GPU driver install.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: New GB board I/O uncooperative

Bump....

Why is this hanging up when I'm supposed to get the Blue XP screen? It does the same thing when I try to reinstall XP... It stays on Setup is Starting Windows. It was fine last night, I turn it off for the night, now it doesn't want to do anything.

Is it my CPU or RAM?
__________________

__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
I need a new Mother Board... smashedpumpkins New Systems | Building and Buying 19 08-09-2008 05:18 PM
Help needed prasmat System Upgrades 1 06-29-2008 11:05 AM
evga 680i board. Error code 7F veedubfreak Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 12-19-2007 02:40 PM
Sony Develops Computing Board, powered by the Cell b1gapl New Systems | Building and Buying 61 08-07-2007 02:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.