New core i7 is built !! high temps :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2009, 08:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default New core i7 is built !! high temps :(

Alright so all the parts for my new i7 build came in today.

Keep in mind this is only with the top 240 MM fan and the cpu fan going. The case is sitting open and the ambient temp is about 25C

I setup the case as barebones as possible to test it and here are my results:

Using asus probe 2 i get the following
Vcore= 0.95V
+3.3V= 3.30V
+5V= 5.09V
+12V= 12.08V
CPU temp = 51C idle (this jumps around quiet a bit, sometimes it'll jump up to 60 then back down to 51)
MB temp = 51C idle
CPU fan speed 1555RPM

Real temp temps as follows

Average of 34-37C Idle (These temps seem more accurate but i know i should usually go with Board software temps first.

Speed fan shows similar temps to asus probe 2

I used a single large blob of Artic 5 in the middle of the cpu then spread it with a credit card. I did the same with the Heat sync block. As far as i can tell the heat sync is applied properly.

If you think hooking up the other fans and closing the case will help my temps then please let me know and i'll try that.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: New core i7 is built !! high temps :(

Are you using the stock heatsink?

Real Temp works good with my X58 mobo's, but there EVGA. As far as I know Real Temp works good with Asus mobo's also.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 07-07-2009, 08:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New core i7 is built !! high temps :(

Sorry i should of been more detailed

Ultra 120 extreme
artic silver 5
Most up to date bios
Asus p6t SEb x58
I now have all fans on except for the side 240MM

Asus probe 47C
Real temp 36C

I guess i just need to know which temps to believe.

Edit: I downloaded core temp and the temps matched real temps almost right on.

Full load temps seems to be around 62C on average.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:03 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New core i7 is built !! high temps :(

I would trust reap temp before asus probe.

real temp works great on my asus board. I did install asus probe for fun and the temps matched real temp on my computer. See if there is a newer version to download.

With a true 37C is about what I would expect.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 424
Default Re: New core i7 is built !! high temps :(

Alright so i woke up at 2am for some reason so i figured I'd finish my pc.

Adding in all the front panel LED lights and installed the last fan, small cosmetic stuff you know.

For some reason after i did that asus probe and my MB temps now match real temp and core temps exactly. Maybe my board didn't like that i had all the fans plugged into the PSU and not the chasis fan ports on the board itself. I am pleased that my temps are all now matching or close to it.

I get 36C idle in windows which from what i've read is acceptable.

Thanks for the help HEF and slaymate.

just another follow up question.

My chasis fans are running are all running around 700 RPM and my true runs at around 1600RPM.

Is there any way to increase all the fan speeds or is that there rated max?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by weelilmatt View Post
I need a good gaming desktop that can run 5 instances of World of Warcraft w/o much lag, if any...

I'm not computer savvy.. so i need help! pleasee!! I just need it to be under $1000, just the desktop no mouse/keyboard/monitor
IBM/PS1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide: Overclocking The i7 H4x3r Overclocking and Modding 17 05-13-2009 12:27 PM
New gtx260 core 216 (stock) compared to a 9600gt ssc Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 28 01-30-2009 10:21 AM
[Project] NB Core Voltage how high? StealthTools Overclocking and Modding 19 09-24-2008 04:43 PM
x1600 pro 512mb temps too high? braz Overclocking and Modding 3 01-23-2008 09:58 AM
E6400 temps Syphanx Overclocking and Modding 2 11-03-2007 10:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.