New Computer Won't Turn On - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2006, 12:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default New Computer Won't Turn On

I just built a computer for my friend, and it won't turn on. When I hit the power button, the fans that are connected directly to the power supply turn on for a few seconds, than off for a few seconds, than back on for a few seconds and keeps repeating. nothing plugged into the mobo turns on. I have a new antec TruePower Trio 650Watt so i am pretty sure thats not the problem. It is a Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 motherboard with a Core 2 Duo Extreme Proc. I also have a nvidia 8800GTS videocard, and 2 gigs of corsair memory.

Does anyone know why it isnt turning on correctly? any ideas would be greatly appreciated. thanks.
__________________

Slayer is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 04:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

that's normal for the DS3 mobo when you first use it, it`ll continue to turn on and off its all in the manual . It should stop doing it the next time you boot.

I worried when it first happened too but it all works fine after awhile, I would also recommend turning off the fan controls because if you watch, it`ll stop and start and that just worried me too much so now it goes full speed.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 01:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 169
Send a message via AIM to Slayer
Default

how many times should it turn on and off? the manual just mentioned that it would do it once the first time to reset the cmos or something like that. After it kept turning on and off every few seconds for a couple minutes I would turn off the computer.
__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/type/0/slayer924.png
Intel P4 @ 2.0 Ghz 400fsb
512mb Corsair XMS dual channel ddr400
Radeon 9800 XT 256mb
40 & 60 gig wd hd\'s
Audigy 2 ZS THX
Logitech 5.1 280watts rms sound THX
Slayer is offline  
Old 11-28-2006, 01:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

not sure, When it first did it with mine i turned my comp off but I hadnt finished building it either. Once it was all done i turned it on went into the BIOS etc made sure everything was fine and it hasnt done it since.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.