New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2008, 03:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to JDM555
Exclamation

Hey, I actually got my computer parts today and got them all together and running. I had a few questions though. It seems as if something is a little funky?

My CPU is Q6600 g0 Slacr
My Heatsink is Xigmatek S1283
My Ram is Crucial Tracers 2x1GB
My PSU is Corsair 520HX
My GPU is EVGA 8800GTS G92
My Mobo is DFI DK T2RS LGA 775 P35 (Orange $139.99 off newegg)

Everything started first fire up. I have installed the new drivers and what not. I have a couple of questions.

My Computer is running, kind of slow. I thought a q6600,2gb ram, and GTS G92 would be faster, but it's not really a whole lot faster. My computer won't let me get into my BIOS Settings at startup to turn off EIST, C1E, and Visualization Technology to help get a little more speed out of my CPU. A friend says the "Del" button is to go to Bios, whenever I hit it, it ignores it and just continues booting up, any help please?

For the 8800GTS G92, I dl'ed the latest drivers off their website. I was running at 60fps max on CS 1.6 which is Whack. I turned off Vsync and I am running 100fps. I should be running 200+ on such a low level type of computer game. Anything else I can do?

Any help would be great, the sooner the better.
John

Hmm, Anyone? I want to make this computer run top notch so I can enjoy my quad core and 8800GTS G92
__________________

__________________

SeaGate 500GB 32MB Cache HD
XIGMATEK S1283 120mm Fan
Crucial Tracers 2X1GB Ram
Intel Q6600 Quad Core g0
DFI P35 Mother Board
19" Dell Wide Screen
EVGA 8800GTS G92
Corsair 520HX PSU
Arctic Silver MX-2
:D

I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
JDM555 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 01:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default Re: New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help?

The DEL button is not always the one to get you there. Look closely the monitor when the pc is booting up and it will tell you something like " for setup hit F12" or any other key. That way you will get into the BIOS.

good luck
__________________

snake is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by snake View Post
The DEL button is not always the one to get you there. Look closely the monitor when the pc is booting up and it will tell you something like " for setup hit F12" or any other key. That way you will get into the BIOS.

good luck

The manual on the website for the manufacturer of the mobo says it is the DEL key.
wicked23 is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 02:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 50
Default Re: New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help?

Then try resetting the BIOS, that gets you out of strange problems sometimes.
snake is offline  
Old 04-09-2008, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to JDM555
Default Re: New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help?

I figured it out. Now I am downloading 3dMark06 and ATi Tool 0.26. My GPU is running at 670Mhz at 47C/37C. My CPU was changed from 333Mhz to 350Mhz and I'm running at 31,30,33,25C on the 4 cores.
John
__________________

SeaGate 500GB 32MB Cache HD
XIGMATEK S1283 120mm Fan
Crucial Tracers 2X1GB Ram
Intel Q6600 Quad Core g0
DFI P35 Mother Board
19" Dell Wide Screen
EVGA 8800GTS G92
Corsair 520HX PSU
Arctic Silver MX-2
:D

I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
JDM555 is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 12:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help?

what did you figure out?
wat was it?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 07:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
MetalOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Franklin, WI
Posts: 432
Send a message via AIM to MetalOwns
Default Re: New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
what did you figure out?
wat was it?
Yeah, how'd you fix it?

I was the one who told him it was the delete button. He has the same mobo as me.
__________________
SYSTEM:
RAIDMAX SMILODON Case
LANPARTY DK P35-T2RS
Intel Core2Duo E6600 (2.40) @ OC'ing
2 gigs G.Skill DDR2 800 RAM @ OC'ing
2x 320 Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (RAID 0)
EVGA Ge-Force 7900 GS KO @ 710/985 @ 1.48v/2.20v
LITE-ON 20x DVD+/-R Burner/12x DVD-RAM w/ LightScribe
LITE-ON 48x CD Burner/16x DVD-ROM
Hanns∑G 19" Widescreen LCD
Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
MetalOwns is offline  
Old 04-10-2008, 08:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help?

he shud post back if the prob is solved...
so it can be used as reference.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 03:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to JDM555
Default Re: New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help?

I made a really stupid mistake. Lets just say... It is the Delete button.....I kept pressing....backspace. lol I feel retarded.
__________________

SeaGate 500GB 32MB Cache HD
XIGMATEK S1283 120mm Fan
Crucial Tracers 2X1GB Ram
Intel Q6600 Quad Core g0
DFI P35 Mother Board
19" Dell Wide Screen
EVGA 8800GTS G92
Corsair 520HX PSU
Arctic Silver MX-2
:D

I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
JDM555 is offline  
Old 04-12-2008, 04:41 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: New computer won't go to BIOS Settings?? Uhhh..Help?

Haha nice one. Well they both sort of do the same thing. Anyone PM Trotter to mark as solved yet?
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ultra ATA/133 card not showing Optical drives in BIOS Rastafari Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-02-2008 12:46 PM
Computer works when horizontal only?! beefpuff Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-13-2007 04:37 AM
Computer just wont work(Wont start up) solid102 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 10-30-2007 09:46 PM
Computer won't boot + RAM question. charlesviper Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-06-2007 04:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.