New computer won't boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-29-2006, 02:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Default New computer won't boot

My friend is doing a computer course and he knows how to build a computer and so do i have basic knowledge about computer hardware. my system was core 2 duo e6300 with intel dg965-wh mobo, gefore 7600 gs overclocked card. now we installed everything and turned on the computer the power supply went off and it started bad smell. we changed the power supply to a higher wattage i.e 480 watts( i dont know if its enough). so before when i used to turn the switch on from behind everything would go on by itself but with the new power supply, i had to press power button to turn it on. so now when i turn on the light on mobo turns on, the cpu fan works, the floppy drive light stays green and the auxillary fan turns on but nothing would show up on screen. i need help as everything in installation went smooth except the power supply that we first used.
__________________

mohsinkahn is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 02:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Dexaroni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 551
Send a message via AIM to Dexaroni Send a message via MSN to Dexaroni
Default

Sounds like your PSU may have fried something.

If that board has onboard graphics, then I couldn't tell you what is wrong, but if it uses the 7600 only, then the card is probably fried.

Of course, make sure that you plugged power into the vid card when you swapped the PSU, make sure that all the cables are plugged in, etc.

Also, is the fan on the card spinning?

Hope I helped,
Dex
__________________

__________________
Dexaroni is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 02:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Default

yes the fan on the card is spinning. it is pci-e card. ummm what other information can i give u. may be bad grounding. i will try to take motherboard apart from case and put it on a place where there is no static and then i will turn on i will see if it works. plus i tried both on board graphics and 7600
mohsinkahn is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 06:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 14
Default

no suggestions, anyways thanks for the support i appreciate it
mohsinkahn is offline  
Old 11-30-2006, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

can you try that card in another PC ?

that would tell you if it is the card or the slot maybe
networkgeek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.