New computer setup wont boot - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2006, 09:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

i read somewhere that the mobo has trouble reading different sticks.. but thats only for 4 sticks..

i doubt its the problem.. try just one stick.. hehe..
__________________

__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 09:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

hmm well the 2 sticks are the same but I guess I could try that wouldn't hurt
__________________

__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 09:59 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

This is also my first time hooking up ATA drives too. Do both plugs on the back need to be plugged in and a 4 pin as well? Thats how I set it set up atleast
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:02 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

well thats a sata2 drive.. so 3 plugs altogether?! weird..

but that shouldn't prevent you from going into the bios...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:04 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

So basically its somthing with my vid card???
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

the mobo have a 4pin connector , did you connect the plug to it? its a must , also did you connect the power plug to the video card? , your assumption on the psu is wrong , just cuz it powers up the parts it doesnt mean its providing enough power and considering you got a power hungry processor & radeon 9800 pro & the fact 350w psus have very low amp ratings , i highly doubt a 350w is enough, youll probably need to get a new psu and the minimum youll like to spend is 55$ , i suggest youll get one these
http://www.thenerds.net/index.php?pa...age&pn=TPII430
http://www.thenerds.net/index.php?pa...age&pn=TPII480
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

well your vid card was working on your old comp right?! and same with the ram? if thats true then i don't think so.


it could be either your mobo or cpu... i don't have much experience with doa products... but it could be your motherboard.. if you have a friend witha 939 socket comp they can test out your parts for you...
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:07 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Yes everything is connected. So it COULD be the psu hmm thanks for the info. Looks like ill be returning all these parts most likely as I cant afford a new psu right now and I wont for awhile. Unemployment is depressing
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 407
Default

Well would the mobo even start up if it was the mobo?
__________________
DwayneDays is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:09 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

must be one of these
1) the psu doesnt cut it (i defintly think this is the issue)
2) you didnt connect the 4pin plug to the mobo
3) you got a DOA mobo (i dont think thats the case)


as for the hard drive , your not suppost to use both regular & sata power plugs at once , only 1 of em
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.