New Computer. Same Issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-31-2007, 12:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default New Computer. Same Issues

I recently had a computer built by my friend but there are many problems that come with it.

First off, here are my specs:
AMD 3800+ Dual Core
M2N-E ASUS Motherboard
1 GB DDR2 PC5300 RAM
ASUSX1300PRO 256MB PCI-E
Western Digital SATA HD 250GB
OPTIMEX 550 Watt PSU

Generic keyboard and mouse and Dell Monitor.

My friend built most of the computer except installing the hard drive which I bought and installed myself.

I started out trying to install Windows XP many times but each time there would either be an installation error or it would just freeze. I tried and I tried until it finally worked and I thought that would be the end of the problems.

Now, various things are happening. Sometimes, I'll start my computer, and then even before it hits the loading screen, it will restart by itself and ask me to Start Windows Normally, in Safe Mode, etc and if I select any option, it will restart again and do the same thing. Something odd I've noticed though is that whenever it restarts by itself and it shows the M2N-E logo, it will show weird dots across the screen. It only happens after it restarts by itself though.

If I try to start a program with high graphics requirements, my computer will restart sometimes. Each time I restart my computer, at least 1 program won't work. Sometimes Adobe Photoshop will give me a memory error, sometimes Firefox won't start when I click it, sometimes I get conversational errors when using Windows Live Messenger.

Also, my microphone port on my front and back panel don't work, and whenever I try to plug a USB cord, a headphone core or a microphone cord into the front while my computer is running, it will restart.

At first, I thought it was a RAM problem, which by the looks of it, seemed to be the case. I got replacement RAM but I still got the exact same errors as before. Everything pointed to the RAM and I even ran MemTest86 and it gave me errors but I replaced the RAM twice now and came to no success.

Now I'm typing from my old computer which at least works and I'm stuck on the start-restart problem mentioned earlier. I really need help with this as it has been happening for a while. I have warranty on all of my products so hopefully I can be helped.
__________________

Duality is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 01:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: New Computer. Same Issues

I think the best thing to do is to remove everything from this computer and start from scratch. Just make sure to ground yourself before touching anything inside so you don't damage any parts.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 03:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: New Computer. Same Issues

Thanks, I'll attempt that. I think my problem is with more than 1 piece of hardware though.
Duality is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 12:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: New Computer. Same Issues

I figured out 1 problem. The SATA Port on my motherboard was very loose. But I still have the problem with memory, where random programs or operations don't work.
Duality is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 03:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 263
Default Re: New Computer. Same Issues

Have you tested the memory to be sure it's good? Also, you might consider testing your power supply.
__________________
---
penfold

www.futurelooks.com/
www.megatechnews.com
penfold is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 05:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: New Computer. Same Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duality View Post
Everything pointed to the RAM and I even ran MemTest86 and it gave me errors but I replaced the RAM twice now and came to no success.
Sounds like it could be bad DIMM sockets on the motherboard. How many DIMM sockets are there, and have you tried using only 1 stick of RAM at a time in different sockets to see if it effects the issue at all?
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-01-2007, 10:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 11
Default Re: New Computer. Same Issues

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ethereal_Dragon View Post
Sounds like it could be bad DIMM sockets on the motherboard. How many DIMM sockets are there, and have you tried using only 1 stick of RAM at a time in different sockets to see if it effects the issue at all?
I've tried 1 stick in all 4 slots and to no avail. In 1 slot, it actually gives me more errors than usual. I'm thinking it may be the motherboard as well because of the previous problems with my RAM, Microphone and headphones not working.
__________________

Duality is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blue bios screen then computer shuts down Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 06-20-2007 10:40 AM
Software issues Nokia N70 and Vista???? cub1971 Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 2 04-11-2007 09:04 AM
Computer freezes during boot-up poveren Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-30-2007 04:46 AM
Computer + TV? blackhawk13 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 03-29-2007 12:15 AM
Computer Shutdowns waytoosmall Overclocking and Modding 2 03-25-2007 12:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.