New Computer: Major problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2007, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 38
Exclamation New Computer: Major problems

Hey guys, I've just built a new computer using the EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel motherboard. Well it runs fast but I've got two major problems listed below. Also at the lower half of this post I have all the components listed that are in my new computer. I also have several BIOS settings. At the very bottom I have what I've tried and realized isn't the problem.

PROBLEM #1. Whenever I try to install a newer game on either of my optical drives I get a CRC error, here is the error that I get with F.E.A.R:

CRC error: The file C:\Program Files (x860\Sierra\FEAR\FEARA.Arch00 doesn't match the file in the setup's .cab file. The medium
from which you are running the setup may be corrected, contact your software vendor

PROBLEM #2. I get random blue screens of death. They only flash for a second or two so I don't have enough time to write down the codes. They usually happen when I have multiple programs running and I try to open/close a window.

Now I'm going to post all the components that are included in my new computer and a lot of my BIOS settings. WARNING: very long:

----------------------------------

MY COMPUTER:

Component list:

Operating System: Windows XP 64-bit Service Pack 1

Motherboard: EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR Socket T (LGA 775) NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813188009

Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Conroe 2.4GHz 4M shared L2 Cache LGA 775
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819115003

RAM: CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145034

Power Supply: ENERMAX GALAXY EGA1000EWL-DXX ATX/BTX 1000W Gamers Edition Power Supply 100 - 240 V
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817194016

Hard Drives:

Primary:
Western Digital Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822136012

Storage:
Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 ST3500641AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s
http://www.newegg.com/Product/CustRa...gesize=&Page=2

Video Card: eVGA 768-P2-N831-AR GeForce 8800GTX 768MB 384-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130072

Sound Card: Creative 70SB046A00000 7.1 Channels 24-bit 192KHz PCI Interface Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Professional Series
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829102005

DVD/CD Burner: LITE-ON Black 20X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 20X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM E-IDE/ATAPI DVD Burner with LightScribe Technology
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Custra...82E16827106055

DVD/CD Player: ASUS Beige 16X DVD-ROM 52X CD-R 32X CD-RW 52X CD-ROM 2MB Cache E-IDE/ATAPI Combo Drive
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827135075

-----------------------------------------------

BIOS Settings

Voltages:

CPU Core: 1.225
CPU FSB: 1.2
Memory: 2.1
nForce SPP: 1.35
nForce MCP 1.5
HT nForce SPP <-> MCP: 1.45

FSB and Memory Config:

SLI-Ready Memory: Disable

CPU Freq, MHz 1866.7
CPU Multiplier 7 x
FSB - Memory Clock Mode [Auto]

Memory Timing Setting:

Memory Timing Setting [Expert]
tcL (CAS Latency) [4] 4
tRCD [4] 4
tRP [4] 4
tRAS [12] 12
Command per Clock(CMD)[Auto(2T)]2T

== NOTE: Are advanced memory settings for the 2nd 1GB stick of my ram? The numbers/labels look very similiar to the normal memory timing settings ==

** Advanced Memory Settings **
tRRD [Auto(3)] 3
trC [Auto(22)]22
tWR [Auto(5)] 5
tWTR [Auto(9)] 9
tREF [Auto] 7.8us


System Clocks:

CPU Multiplier 7x

PCIe x16_1, MHz [Auto] LinkBoost 125
PCIe x16_3, MHz [Auto] 100
PCIe x16_2, MHz [Auto] 100
SPP<->MCP Ref Clock, Mhz[Auto] LinkBoost 251

** HT Multiplier **
nForce SPP --> nForce MCP [5 x]
nForce SPP <-- nForce MCP [5 x]

** Spread Spectrum Setting **

CPU Spread Spectrum [Center Spread]
PCIe Spread Spectrum(SPP) [Auto]
PCIe Spread Spectrum(MCP) Auto
SATA Spread Spectrum Down Spread

System monitor:

CPU idles around 23 degrees celcius
Board idles around 39 degrees celcius
MCP idles at a whopping 98 degrees celcius... is this bad and what is MCP?

----------------------------------------

WHAT IVE TRIED TO FIX GAME INSTALLATION PROBLEM

1. I've tried removing 1 stick of ram and starting up with both sticks to check if either is faulty. Either neither of them are or they both have errors but if they're both faulty how would I be able to use my comp right now?

2. I've checked both IDE modes for my optical drives. Both are set to DMA (when available). I even tried setting both to IPO only but games still couldn't install.

3. Turned off all firewalls and extra processes, didn't work.

4. Installed all latest windows critical/optional updates.

5. Tried turning off 1 CPU core for the installation process of any game, doesn't fix it.

WHAT IVE TRIED TO FIX RANDOM BLUE SCREEN PROBLEM

1. Lowered CPU voltage to 1V (in medium range of recommended voltage) didn't fix it.

2. Installed all windows updates


Can someone please help me, I really need help I can't seem to figure this out. Thanks to anyone who helps!
__________________

Emper0r is offline  
Old 01-20-2007, 11:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

-sounds to me like u have Me$$ed up registry, i' d suggest downloading "Tuneup Utlities 2006" TRAIL and defragment ur registry, or if not then clean out the bad registry.

- are u using any themes on ur system (modified themes)?
- have u installed are ur chipset drivers, display drivers, etc correctly ?
- have updated them lately?If so then use the software that came with the hardware
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 12:02 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Also I've heard nothing but trouble with windows XP 64 bit.
And Windows Vista 64 bit is supposed to be much more stable. I've been reading a lot of forums on this cause I was looking into 64 bit myself. But thought against it.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 12:04 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 38
Default

I used the Tuneup Utility 2007 and it found a lot of registry errors, I fixed them all, still getting the same problem.

- Not using any theme
- When I first installed my chipset drivers, I installed the one that was available in the CD menu. Later I explored the CD and discovered there was a 64-bit version of the chipset drivers and installed those. Does this matter?
- I updated all the drivers from their respective websites.
Emper0r is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 12:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

try removing all the drivers and install the drivers form the 64-bit version(cd), without updating it from any site, and see if the problem still occurs
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 101
Default

yes it does matter about 64 bit drivers or else the chipset wont communicate the way it should using 32bit drivers...as far as the blue screen if you right click on my computer and goto properties and then the advanced tab and then under startup and recovery i think, theres the option to not have the system restart on system errors...take that off and u should be able to see the error...i was getting that but i think it was a warning my mobo was dying because it died a day later...try just loading bios defaults and go from there, make sure all the drivers are the 64bit ver, try running memtest86 on the ram if u want to see if its faulty
__________________
-E6300 Intel Core Duo 1.86GHz
-ASUS P5NSLI Motherboard
-OCZ PC6400 800MHz 4x1GB Platinum series
-XFX 8800GTX
-OCZ Gamer Xtream 700W PSU
-2x160GB WD HD in RAID 0
-Antec Nine Hundred case
icantflybfplane is offline  
Old 01-21-2007, 05:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

your comp can still work (technicaly) with damaged ram,, i had damaged ram before it gave me random blue screens and i couldnt install stuff of discs,,, download memtest and give it a try
__________________

__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.