New Computer Issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2005, 12:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default New Computer Issue

Ok, I'm building a computer and I ordered this mobo and this proccesor....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131541

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103603

I installed them with a 420 watt cheapo PSU w/ a hd and a cd-rom of course. But when I went to turn it on I got nothing. I'm pretty sure everything is wired correctly, but when when i was doing some research online the asus website mentioned somthing about the mobo supporting dual core proccesors and I dont think my athlon 3500 is dual core, would I need a different mobo? The proccesor fits the socket and everything. Or could it be just the cheap PSU? Any help would be much appreciated.
__________________

pr1m0 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

no the 3500+ is not a dual core. the dual core athlon's are called "athlon x2's" and come in 3800+, 4200+, 4400+, 4600+ and 4800+. if you are getting absolutely nothing when you hit the power switch that implies incorrect wiring, damaged mobo or psu. it could be a damaged switch i suppose.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Anyway I could test the mobo, and I dont think the psu is the problem since i hve tried a different one with the same problem.
pr1m0 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 01:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: New Computer Issue

Quote:
Originally posted by pr1m0
Ok, I'm building a computer and I ordered this mobo and this proccesor....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131541

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103603

I installed them with a 420 watt cheapo PSU w/ a hd and a cd-rom of course. But when I went to turn it on I got nothing. I'm pretty sure everything is wired correctly, but when when i was doing some research online the asus website mentioned somthing about the mobo supporting dual core proccesors and I dont think my athlon 3500 is dual core, would I need a different mobo? The proccesor fits the socket and everything. Or could it be just the cheap PSU? Any help would be much appreciated.
Un attached everything but CPU, RAM and Video card. Then try booting. If the same thing happens. Take the motherboard out of case, leave CPU, RAM and Video card attached, place motherboard on a hardwood or brick table. Then try rebooting.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 01:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Un attached everything but CPU, RAM and Video card. Then try booting. If the same thing happens. Take the motherboard out of case, leave CPU, RAM and Video card attached, place motherboard on a hardwood or brick table. Then try rebooting.
Ok I tired all that but still no luck... Would using a screwdriver with a magneic tip affect anything? I'm really hoping this isn't a bad mobo >.<
pr1m0 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 01:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

no the magnet does not do anything its too weak. but i think its your PSU is there any signs of life from you computer? did you wire you front panel power button to the mobo right ?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 01:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Take both RAM sticks out and try booting. If there are no beeps then we have a problem. A computer should indict no RAM through Error Beeps..
Ste is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 01:42 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
no the magnet does not do anything its too weak. but i think its your PSU is there any signs of life from you computer? did you wire you front panel power button to the mobo right ?
Im almost sure I did, Ive even tried turning it upside down because I dont kno which hole is the ground on it, Is there anyway I could turn the system on w/o the power button? And I get zero signs of life, i tried putting in an old 300watt psu that im sure works, and I can hear it get power but still gives nothing, Ive only tried that psu with everything hooked up though and it probably wasn't enough power...
pr1m0 is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 02:04 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
bonehelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612
Default

reset your CMOS ?
__________________
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 12-25-2005, 02:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

K I dont fully understand, is a power light coming on the motherboard when the power supply is turned on? Or is this a problem with hooking the button on? You can start a ATX motherboard by putting a screwdriver across the 2 pins that activate the power.

Also before you scrap stuff let me ask some basic questions, on the back of the PSU is it set to 120v (only if u live in north america, DONT put it to 120v if ur not in north america). Finally, are you sure that the atx power cable is correctly in the motherboard (probably is, i think its impossible to put it in wrong, just asking though).
__________________

__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.