New Computer HD not recognized - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2010, 12:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default New Computer HD not recognized

I have the following
Intel Desktop Board D945PLNML Motherboard
Intel PD 915 2.80GHz
Patriot Signature 1024MB PC5400 DDR2 667MHz Memory -
LG GH22NS50 DVD Writer OEM
Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000.B 250GB Serial ATA Hard Dr

and when I install the HD in the MB and start the computer all that comes up is the Intel logo and tells me to press F2 to enter BIOS. I press F2 and nothing happens. The only way I can get in the BIOS is to unplug the Hard Drive. Does any one have any ideas as to what the problem?
__________________

shman is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 08:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: New Computer HD not recognized

Is this HDD the main or a secondary drive?
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 08:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New Computer HD not recognized

Is the hard drive IDE or SATA? Do you have the master/slave jumper set correctly? Do you have it in the correct IDE channel on the mother board?

Now for explination of the terms used.



That is an IDE cable. It is flat and thin.



That is SATA. For a side by side check here:

What is SATA - Serial ATA Information Page



The jumper is hte blue thing. Check the writing on the hard drive to know if you have it set to master or slave.



IDE Channels on the mother board. If you look real close on the right side ine small white letters. You will see that the top is labeled IDE1 and the bottom is labeled IDE2. If this is your only hard drive, you should have it set to the top on IDE channel 1.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 10:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: New Computer HD not recognized

but would that stop him from getting into the bios at all? seems like something else is suspect here. not shooting holes through either of your ideas, but just my observation. *to poster* please don't worry I'm just throwing this as an idea *to Mak213* could it be his IDE controller or SATA controller?
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 12:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: New Computer HD not recognized

This is a SATA Drive. I put an old 20GB Maxtor Hd IDE in and it is recognized in the BIOS as Is the Sata DVD.
shman is offline  
Old 02-21-2010, 02:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New Computer HD not recognized

Reset cmos.

try a different sata port.
try a different sat cable.

A bit strange though even if the drive is jacked you should still be able to get into bios.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 02-22-2010, 09:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: New Computer HD not recognized

I wanted to make sure that the drives were setup properly first. As not being setup properly for an IDE connection will stop you from doing anything, including getting to your BIOS.

Since it is SATA that isnt the issue. I would do what Hefe said.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-24-2010, 06:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: New Computer HD not recognized

I've tried switching the DVD Drive with the SATA Hd and still no go. When the sata drive is hooked up I can't get into the BIOS. When I undo the SATA drive and just use the IDE drive I get into the BIOs. I'm pretty close to trashing the MB and using an AMD setup. Thanks for you help
shman is offline  
Old 02-25-2010, 04:47 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: New Computer HD not recognized

Sounds like a bad HDD, try it another machine if possible.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-26-2010, 07:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: New Computer HD not recognized

I finally got it to recognize the Sata drive and started to load the operating system whichis XP. It loaded all the drivers and startedto load windows when the blue screen came up and said "we have encontered an error and what to do if its the first time. I couldn't go to any of the recommended solutions because there is no operating systen currently installed on the HD. At the bottom the following: "Stop OX0000007E(OX0000005,OXF74960BF,OXF8E8208,OXF78E7F 08

PCI SYS Address F749COBF base at F7495000
Date Stamp 3b7d855c"
Is this an indication that it is the VGA Card. There is no on board video. MY Video Card Is: ATI VGA Powercolor: AX4650 512MB.

Does any have any ideas on this. Any help is appreciated
__________________

shman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30+ Windows 7 Features Phone Home to Microsoft KSoD Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-12-2009 10:36 PM
Linksys Wireless-G USB is not recognized by computer Childrenfirst Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 09-07-2009 09:56 PM
Warning: Building a computer may lead to nervous breakdown! White_Wolf Off Topic Discussion 18 04-09-2009 06:43 PM
Old Computer -> New Computer? JNorris57 System Upgrades 4 03-08-2009 10:19 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.