New computer getting slower... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-10-2007, 06:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default New computer getting slower...

Right, so I built the computer below about.. oo... a month ago, or so. Everything I ran on it worked at max settings without any slow down, so I haven't bothered overclocking yet (or found a free afternoon in which to do so!).

So I have been playing Oblivion, and originally, there was no noticeable 'slide show' effect- smooth framerate.

Over time, I perceived the framerate to be getting lower, but thought nothing of it. I tried starting a new game now and I'm almost positive that there has definitely been some slow down. The frame rate at times can come down to the unbearable level.

Now I was thinking that I may as well overclock everything, and see how I go, and/or run at lower settings, which is fine, I'd just like to know why things are getting slower! Any ideas?

Computer:
Motherboard: Asus P5K deluxe Wifi AP
CPU: Intel Q6600 Core 2 Quad SLACR (G0) Stock
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme/ Scythe S-Flex 1200rpm/ Arctic MX-2
RAM: 2Gb (2x1Gb) Crucial Ballistix DDR2 800Mhz (PC2 6400) Stock
GPU: eVGA Geforce 8800 GTS 320Mb Stock
PSU: Corsair HX520W
HD: 1xSeagate Barracuda 500Gb 7200.10
Optical: Sony/NEC AD7170S (SATA) DVD RW
Case: Antec nine hundred
Extras: Floppy, Zalman ZM-MFC2 Fan controller
__________________

Andyf is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 08:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 175
Default Re: New computer getting slower...

Adware, Fragmented hard drive, Spyware, viruses, trojans. All appear on PCs over time. Time for a good cleaning.
__________________

__________________
http://fc03.deviantart.com/fs19/f/2007/227/1/9/HPH_sig__v_Corrupt__MC_FT_by_HawtPawkitHero.png
krazy_taco is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New computer getting slower...

or a physical one too: dust cleaning.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-10-2007, 10:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: New computer getting slower...

NO WAY should you have a slideshow with those specs, defrag and kill some viruses and spam, then overclock if you need to.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 10:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 510
Default Re: New computer getting slower...

Right you are. No spyware etc., a good defrag did a certain amount, but surely slow down shouldn't be a problem at all (only running at 1280x1024)? Temps are all ultra cool, and there really hasn't been time for dust build up.

On the otherhand, I never went to great effort to kill useless processes. Maybe I'll have a go at that later.
Andyf is offline  
Old 10-11-2007, 11:41 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: New computer getting slower...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andyf View Post
Right you are. No spyware etc., a good defrag did a certain amount, but surely slow down shouldn't be a problem at all (only running at 1280x1024)? Temps are all ultra cool, and there really hasn't been time for dust build up.

On the otherhand, I never went to great effort to kill useless processes. Maybe I'll have a go at that later.
Start with msconfig and the old alt+ctrl+del task manager. If you have a scroll bar in your tasl manager, your almost certainly running stuff you don't need too in the background.
__________________

__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.