New computer - Gets to windows loading screen and reboots - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2007, 04:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default New computer - Gets to windows loading screen and reboots

I just built up my new PC

I have an 80gb hardrive with Vista already ionsatlled on it from a previous computer.

When the computer turns on and boots form the harddrive, it gets to the loading page were the green bars travel horixontally and it says microsft corportion , and instaed of then going on to the login screen the computer rastarts

any suggestions?
__________________

whynotsk8 is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Do you mean that the OS was an install from a previous rig? I think you need to reinstall windows on that new build in order to get all the correct drivers for the mobo installed. Or you could try to boot from the Vista DVD and "repair" the install that is already on the HD.
__________________

dknight1234 is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Yes i installed Vista on the hard drive on an old PC
I also tried another HDD with XP installed on that computer - the same thing happened
whynotsk8 is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Yeah, I'm pretty sure you can't just stick in a drive and have it boot. Try the repair console on the disk and if that doesn't work, do a clean install.
dknight1234 is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

OK thanks - you rekcon this is the problem??
whynotsk8 is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 04:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23
Default

No prob. I do think this is the problem, but feel free to wait for a second opinion.
dknight1234 is offline  
Old 02-13-2007, 05:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 63
Default

defnately the problem
__________________

__________________
XP PRO - Thermaltake Tsunami Dream - C2D E6400@3.2 - EVGA Nvidia 680i SLI - 2Gb Corsair Dominator 6400 - Sapphire X1950 XT - TT Purepower 550W Modular PSU - Zalman 9500
Bmsh is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.