new computer, cant install windows:( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-21-2006, 01:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Angry new computer, cant install windows:(

bought a new computer recently but it wont go past this

NVIDIA Bott agent 209.0476
copyright NVIDIA corporation
copyrigth INTEL corporation
Pxe-e61 media test failure, check cable
Pxe-mof exiting NVIDIA boot agent
DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSYTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER

so insert the windows desk and press enter and a few moments later it just comes up with the same thing. it is bringing me to tears plz help
there is a raptor hard drive in the comp, i duno if that means anything
__________________

icevovo is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 03:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default

Make sure the drive is working. If your using a floppy to boot try taking the floppy out and sliding the slider a few times to make sure it opens.
__________________

dario03 is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

thanks for replying, i am using a dvd rom drive and the windows xp home cd-rom, i have tried setting the cd-rom as number 1 boot thingy in BIOS but it still does the same
icevovo is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 09:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Edit - Sorry didn't see the error message!

Do you have the bios settings set properly for sata hdd?
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 09:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Do you have the jumpers/IDE cables set properly? I got this error when trying to re-format an old computer, and I forgot to set the HDD from "Slave" to "master".
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 10:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by CrazeD
Do you have the jumpers/IDE cables set properly? I got this error when trying to re-format an old computer, and I forgot to set the HDD from "Slave" to "master".
There's no jumpers on a sata!
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 10:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by FlashDude
There's no jumpers on a sata!
That's true... lol. My bad.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-21-2006, 12:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

in bios boot order , it shows the drive name or just cd-rom? usally bioses that dont display the drive name supports booting only from the first optical drive (depending on how their connected on the ide channels & master/slave jumper settings) so if you got more then one optical drive try it.. , if you got only 1 then the cd is not bootable , see this guide on making it bootable
http://unattended.msfn.org/unattended.xp/view/web/15/
jeremy is offline  
Old 05-22-2006, 04:35 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Default

i had an external dvd drive from my other comp and tried using that and funniliy enbnough it wortked first go. i changed BIOS settings to seek other afetr cd-rom drive
__________________

icevovo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.