New components are prone to static electricity? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2008, 03:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default New components are prone to static electricity?

When I took my computer for repair, they guy did not had a pci adapter, so he took out my 8800 GT and basicly touch the whole top part, and I asked him if that was okay, and he said that it is very rare for a new component to stop working because of static. Is that true? or does it only apply on the graphics card?
__________________

__________________
ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
ATI 4870 ARTIC COOLER FAN
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 07-13-2008, 03:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: New components are prone to static electricity?

I've never discharged static on any of my components...and I handle them all over. Just ground yourself out before you touch any components (touch any unpainted metal surface to ground yourself out). I've worked on tons of computers, and just make sure to eitehr touch the case's metal, or the metal legs on the tables I work on.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 03:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: New components are prone to static electricity?

Yeah I would say its pretty uncommon but it can definitely happen, best to take precautions with expensive kit. of all the hundred or so components i've worked with I guess i've seen about 3 fail because of static - at least that i could confidently say were due to static.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 04:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: New components are prone to static electricity?

You really don't need an expensive kit or anything. Like Carnage said, just touch any large piece of metal and you are good. I've worked on computers even in carpeted areas with just socks on back in my old bedroom days, and NEVER had troubles with static.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 04:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New components are prone to static electricity?

Large steel cases work fine, or you could touch like a screw on the power outlet (yes thats safe)

But he's lying
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 04:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: New components are prone to static electricity?

Wait, who's lying?
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 04:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: New components are prone to static electricity?

The guy who said that the newer parts completely immune to Static

(btw your thread name is contradicting)
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 05:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default Re: New components are prone to static electricity?

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
You really don't need an expensive kit or anything. Like Carnage said, just touch any large piece of metal and you are good. I've worked on computers even in carpeted areas with just socks on back in my old bedroom days, and NEVER had troubles with static.
Hmm, I think you misunderstand me, I wasn't advocating using expensive anti-static kit I was saying its best to take precautions when you're working on expensive computer kit.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 08:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: New components are prone to static electricity?

Yeah, I've never made a serious effort to ground myself, and the only static that I've unloaded on my computers is Static-X. And I've never Frank Zappa'd any of them either.

I'll uhh... I'll just stop there.
coolshmo is offline  
Old 07-14-2008, 08:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: New components are prone to static electricity?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrCoffee View Post
Hmm, I think you misunderstand me, I wasn't advocating using expensive anti-static kit I was saying its best to take precautions when you're working on expensive computer kit.
Gotcha :nerd:
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Vostro sound static Laotzu Laptops and Notebooks 0 04-11-2008 01:25 AM
Problem setting up Static IP Ares82 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 01-31-2008 12:03 AM
Static electricity and shorting components? Joeyboy System Upgrades 6 01-03-2008 02:48 PM
These components seem OK? NaughtiusMaximus System Upgrades 9 09-17-2007 02:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.