new comp shuts down after 30mins - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2010, 09:55 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default new comp shuts down after 30mins

hey guys just build a computer with the following specs:

AMD PhenomX4 2.3ghz processor
2G RAM
450watt power supply
215mb Geforce 9800 video card
500Mb HDD
OEM CPU cooler with artic silver

Now here is my problem. the computer shuts down after 20-30mins of run time...saying "Windows has been shut down to prevent further damagde to your computer"

Now my guess is this s a cooling issue...or is it sumthing more?
__________________

bluestreak95 is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 10:02 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: new comp shuts down after 30mins

It's a PSU problem. You do not have enough juice in that thing. What is the manufacturer of your PSU?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 10:06 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default Re: new comp shuts down after 30mins

sum no name company it came with my case here is a link to my case

Buy the Power Up Black ATX Mid-Tower Case at TigerDirect.ca
bluestreak95 is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 09:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: new comp shuts down after 30mins

That is your problem. Never assume that a no name PSU will be powerful enough.

Get a new one. Read this: *READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 10:52 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: new comp shuts down after 30mins

Run Hardware Monitor and post a screenshot of just the Hardware Monitor Window, not your whole Desktop. Like this so we can read ALL the info

HWMonitor

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-02-2010, 11:13 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: new comp shuts down after 30mins

Slaymate meant Alt + Print Screen
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-03-2010, 02:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: new comp shuts down after 30mins

I am interested on slaymates background image now....

Anyways, I will agree with the PSU, but, I am also sure windows is throwing off an error code of some form.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
built new comp, swapped in old HD, trying to get it to load windows... camosilver311 System Upgrades 21 03-07-2009 05:42 PM
New comp only start up wen clear CMOS denni0302 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 02-21-2009 06:47 AM
PC Shuts Down Man_Dog Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-18-2009 02:13 AM
rebuilt socket 487 comp need help Blizz419 System Upgrades 9 10-14-2008 07:59 AM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-27-2007 01:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.