New Comp Not Working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2009, 02:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default New Comp Not Working

So I have everything connected, turn on the power strip, and turn on the power supply. I get LED lights on the mobo like normal, and the standby power LED on the front of the case. But when I proceed to turn on the computer by pressing the power button, the fans and stuff inside come to life for a split second, then die, and it just stays off. I tried unplugging stuff one at a time to see if I didn't have enough power but this had no effect.

It's a 650W PSU, and the things being powered are:

DVD Drive (SATA)
HDD (SATA)
GeForce GTX 260 Core 216 (2 x PCI-E, 6-pin)
2 case fans (via a 4-pin each)
Motherboard (24-pin main connector, and an 8-pin for the 12V)
Heatsink fan (4-pin through the mobo)
Core 2 Duo
4GB (2x2GB) OCZ hi-perf ram


Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

RaXoR is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 03:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: New Comp Not Working

Plenty of power unfortunately points at the usual suspect namely a board that arrived DOA! It shuts right off in just a second or two while the fans and lights blink at you. That's the unfortunate facts on rejects you end up returning for a replacement or another model.

You could have a 450w supply in and still see enough power to run the build there for seeing the basics covered. Another thing to try is unplugging the main and the 8pin cpu feed and lightly pressing those back in until the main is all the down and the retainers click on the 8pin in case of loose contact.
__________________

eyeCpc is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 05:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: New Comp Not Working

Try reseating your CPU.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 12:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: New Comp Not Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
Plenty of power unfortunately points at the usual suspect namely a board that arrived DOA! It shuts right off in just a second or two while the fans and lights blink at you. That's the unfortunate facts on rejects you end up returning for a replacement or another model.

You could have a 450w supply in and still see enough power to run the build there for seeing the basics covered. Another thing to try is unplugging the main and the 8pin cpu feed and lightly pressing those back in until the main is all the down and the retainers click on the 8pin in case of loose contact.
The fans aren't even on for a second, it's just an instantaneous on then off, and then they just slow down and stop. Also, the mobo lights stay solid, no blinking. I'll try reseating the power connections and get back to you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldskool
Try reseating your CPU.
I'll try it and get back to you.
RaXoR is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 12:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: New Comp Not Working

Try a spare Power supply if you have one. Could be an iffy PSU. Could also try a different graphics card (or onboard if your board has it), instead of the GTX 260. If it turns on then...then you'll know you don't have enough power for some reason.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 12:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default

The GTX was one of the things I was unplugging at first to see if it was hogging too much power, but it still wouldn't power up.

I tried unplugging everything except the power connections for the mobo (24-pin main and 8-pin for cpu) and same effect.

I also re-seated the ram, and tried with only 1 stick, still nothing.

Also something I'm not entirely sure on... My motherboard manual says it takes both of those connections, the 24-pin as a main power connector and the 8-pin as the power for the cpu. I was looking for an 8-pin from my power supply and the only thing I could find was a single cord that split into 2 square 4-pin connectors at the end. While this still fit the 8-pin socket, 2 of the shapes of the holes on one of the 4-pin squares were shaped differently than what was on the socket (you know how some of the connector holes are square but others have like diagonals where the top corners are?) I'm not sure if this means anything.

Another thing I read somewhere is that you need a certain number of 12V rails from the PSU in order for it to work. Is there any way I can check this?

Thanks.
RaXoR is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 07:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: New Comp Not Working

The cpu power has to be plugged in. The idea was to replug the plug or plugs back in lightly to see if there was any loose contact inside. But it sounds like you need an adapter if the board needs all 8pins to convert two 4pin molex plugs to the 8pin setup. 12V Molex to 8pin P8 Adapter (AD202): CrazyPC Computers
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 08:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: New Comp Not Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by eyeCpc View Post
The cpu power has to be plugged in. The idea was to replug the plug or plugs back in lightly to see if there was any loose contact inside. But it sounds like you need an adapter if the board needs all 8pins to convert two 4pin molex plugs to the 8pin setup. 12V Molex to 8pin P8 Adapter (AD202): CrazyPC Computers
He's not describing molex connectors. He has 2x4-pin 12v (non-molex).

OP: what brand/model are your components? (specifically motherboard and PSU).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 09:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
eyeCpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,074
Default Re: New Comp Not Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
He's not describing molex connectors. He has 2x4-pin 12v (non-molex).

OP: what brand/model are your components? (specifically motherboard and PSU).
It sounds like he went for the wrong supply for the board or simply is using an older style without the P8 connector needed. The adapter should still work without problems with two molex plugs.
eyeCpc is offline  
Old 02-03-2009, 09:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: New Comp Not Working

One of the 4-pin will work in place of the 8pin. Not totally necessary to have the full 8pin. 4-pin only goes in 1 way in the 8-pin layout.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new computer build not working, please help! saucy2040 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 01-27-2009 12:05 PM
Mic Not working in vista. Any suggestions? dustybob Microsoft Windows and Software 6 11-27-2008 07:50 PM
rebuilt socket 487 comp need help Blizz419 System Upgrades 9 10-14-2008 07:59 AM
Comp loses all functionality.. Internet dies.. programs stop working, needs restart robocho23 Laptops and Notebooks 2 08-30-2008 12:34 PM
New Comp, Not Working, AuThoRitY New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-16-2007 11:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.