New comp first boot failed - burned CPU?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-03-2007, 02:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default First boot up failed miserably - burned CPU?!

Here's the situation

I just spend about 3 hours putting together a new comp...

Intel Core2 Duo E6600
Gigabyte board
GF7900GS video card
Antec 500W PSU
2GB Corsair XMS

I boot it up for the first time and everything seems to get have power, including the video card. However, I get no picture, then after about 20 secs, the comp shuts off and I smell an awful burning smell coming from the CPU. I never encountered such a situation before.... so I desperately need some help and assistance.

It's going to really hurt if I just burned up a $315 dollar CPU......... I don't even want to think about it.

I was going to take the sink off and examine the CPU and the socket, but the stock sink was SUCH a pain to put on (almost bent my MB putting it on) I'll have to disassemble everything to get it off, including the MB.

What did I do wrong?! I built many comps in the past and never had this kind of problem. I really need some help bad, so any suggestions or comments would be appreciated.... thanks.
__________________

__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 03:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 260
Default

i probably would suggest you checked the cpu just my suggestion
__________________

__________________
Dell Dimension 8400
P 4 630 with HT 3GHZ
Windows Home Edition
1GB Dual Channel DDR2 400MHZ
160GB ATA 7200RPM HD
XFX 7900GT 256-Bit
Sound Blaster 24 bit Advanced HD
Coke27 is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 03:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 200
Send a message via MSN to wongb18c
Default

I took the sink off...... and the smell seems like is originating from the thermal paste.....

It's a long shot but, could too much thermal paste be counter productive and cause the CPU to overheat and cook the paste?
__________________
(\'.\') Q(\'\'Q) (\'.\'(O=(\'\'Q) (*.*) t(\"t )
wongb18c is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 05:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 52
Default

Dude,
with such minimal details no1 can help!
All we can do is give suggestions....
rokza is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 06:19 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default

was the sink and fan installed correctly? if it wasnt that can cause overheating
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 10:12 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: First boot up failed miserably - burned CPU?!

Quote:
Originally posted by wongb18c
I was going to take the sink off and examine the CPU and the socket, but the stock sink was SUCH a pain to put on (almost bent my MB putting it on) I'll have to disassemble everything to get it off, including the MB.
Well, perhaps you damaged the CPU with the installation of the heatsink. At this point, you REALLY don't have much choice but to remove the Head sink & CPU, unless your just going to chuck out the mobo too.....

What kind of thermal pad/paste did you use (if any, HOPEFULLY you did) on the CPU?

I burned an AMD 2600+ XP when they were in the $300ish range back in the day with a thermaltake HS&F, and didn't use thermal paste.... REALLY stupid move... the CPU core FUSED itself to the Heatsink... I literally had to chisel it off, then tossed out both, and got an AMD 2400+ XP to replace it.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 01:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
alexsabree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 1,845
Default

yeah some cpu fans are a ****** to put on, and sometimes they may look like they are, but really arent on all the way.

What heatsink/fan did u use?
alexsabree is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 02:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

try pulling out the PSU connector and see if theres any burn marks there. wow that would suck if the Cpu fried, but did u buy it off someone or was it from retail? the heatsinks come with thermal paste on it already when u buy a new CPU.
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 03:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default

I do believe too much thermal paste can hurt instead of help.... Only supposed to have a paper thin amount on there.
Mantis-X is offline  
Old 03-03-2007, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

RMA it. And next time only put a cooked grain of rice sized dot of Paste on..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.