new comp doesnt want to shut down need help plzzz - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2005, 03:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default Re: Re: new comp doesnt want to shut down need help plzzz

Quote:
Originally posted by Sprooty
Sounds like your computer is going into standby mode when u shut it down.

There are 2 types of standby.. one where power is still on,fans.. and everything runs.. but the screen is off and the computer is basically idle apart form the fans and the 2nd where the computer turns off and stores everything under RAM until its brought out of Standby so in the 2nd one nothing is running.. computer is basically off
so how would i fix this
__________________

redrumy3 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 04:12 PM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Doing a windows shutdown, form the start menu, should not put you into hybernation. Not all spyware programs are flawless. I had this same problem a few months pack after my Daughter had download a file from Kaaza (horrible program!!!). My MacAfee antispyware and others did not find the program that was running in the background. I finally found it my using a program called Xcleaner.....Bargain Buddy!!! So I now use 4 spyware programs. My original assessment remains. If your puter was just black screening at idle that would be one thing. But the act of shut down from the start menu....the puter should shut down!!!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 05:20 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
Doing a windows shutdown, form the start menu, should not put you into hybernation. Not all spyware programs are flawless. I had this same problem a few months pack after my Daughter had download a file from Kaaza (horrible program!!!). My MacAfee antispyware and others did not find the program that was running in the background. I finally found it my using a program called Xcleaner.....Bargain Buddy!!! So I now use 4 spyware programs. My original assessment remains. If your puter was just black screening at idle that would be one thing. But the act of shut down from the start menu....the puter should shut down!!!
yea but its a new custom system i just put together nothing installed yet except for windows xp so theres gonna be no spyware , but ill download that and run it and see what happens
__________________

redrumy3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.