New case, Power problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2006, 06:43 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 77
Default

If the same scenario occurs with both PSU's - than only means that psu isn't the problem obviousely. Both of them are overloaded when turned on, and then they shut down.
Anyway, i't probably motherboard , but you still can try to isolate (and maybe fix) the problem. Unplug everything from the motherboard, including memory,video, ide cables(not sure about cpu though). Also unplug all cdroms hdd's , fd from the power supply, and turn the power on. Of course you can't expect a successfull POST (you guessed it) , but if power supply works continuosly and doesn't shut down - than you can plug your hardware back one by one and test each time untill you find the faulty one.
__________________

junglemike is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 06:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to freedonutss
Default

Alright I see. So if any of the hardware was messed up it could cause the computer from not starting up? Meh, I dont see how the motherboard could go bad from transferring it from one case to another.
__________________

__________________
Aspire X-Navigator Series
Intel 3.66 Ghz Dual Core
2x 1GB Kingston 4-4-4-12 Ram
ECS P4M890T-M2 LGA 775 M/B
Nvidia Geforce 7900GTO 512 MB PCI x16
Rosewill 700W PSU
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 16MB 3.0gb/s
freedonutss is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 06:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 77
Default

Quote:
I dont see how the motherboard could go bad from transferring it from one case to another.
Of coure it can. Think that your motherboard has thousand of connection paths between chips, and literally billions of transistor (inside the chips mostly). Even a slight bending braking one of these connections might be enough
That's a theory of course, Maybe you just missed something, and all the hardware is still OK.
__________________

junglemike is offline  
Closed Thread

« Harddrive | Ahhh! »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.