new case for dell. problems! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2006, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default new case for dell. problems!

hi,

I have a dell computer. I bought a new case for it. It is an aspire x-discovery and I tried to install it today. I have a little experience with computer hardware but now much.

I couldn't find a place for a few of the cords. They were for the neon lights and the power button. Are dell motherboards only compatable with dell parts?

Thanks
__________________

burton0891 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Re: new case for dell. problems!

Quote:
Originally posted by burton0891
Are dell motherboards only compatable with dell parts?

Thanks

Pretty much only compatible with their own crap,If you can get the board to fit the case properly you are going to have to use your old dell power supply too,If you try hooking up any other type you will probably fry your stuff since dell has their own pin setup.
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

I think he is just looking for a place to plug in his power, reset, and hd activity leads. Even a dell mobo should have pins for these, probably in one of the corners.
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 07:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Default

i used the old power supply and everything. i knew where most things plugged in, such as the drives. The only cords I don't know where to put are the ones from the case. They are the power button, the led's, and the neons. They each have 2-pin slots but one cord has only 1-pin.

Thanks, sorry I am so new to this.
burton0891 is offline  
Old 03-14-2006, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

They usually go somewhere in the corner of the mobo, you might have a tough time finding out which way they go in without the mobo manual.
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.