New burner not work, need power supply +info - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-03-2009, 02:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default New burner not work, need power supply +info

So, I used to have a SATA DL burner, made by HL or some weird company. Then I switched it out for a Pioneer DL burner, that was defective, traded it for an LG burner.

Now my monitor doesn't turn on when I plug in the power to my new burner. So I was told my power supply didn't have enough juice to support both my monitor and my burner simultaneously. (300w)

My question is, if I buy this new power supply (400-500w) will it be enough to supply power to everything I need? Also, I don't want to come home to find out that I need a bunch of new hardware just to work with my power supply, I'm not sure if it works like that, but please let me know so I can have some peace at mind.
__________________

Anthrox is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 01:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 7
Default Re: New burner not work, need power supply +info

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthrox View Post
So, I used to have a SATA DL burner, made by HL or some weird company. Then I switched it out for a Pioneer DL burner, that was defective, traded it for an LG burner.

Now my monitor doesn't turn on when I plug in the power to my new burner. So I was told my power supply didn't have enough juice to support both my monitor and my burner simultaneously. (300w)

My question is, if I buy this new power supply (400-500w) will it be enough to supply power to everything I need? Also, I don't want to come home to find out that I need a bunch of new hardware just to work with my power supply, I'm not sure if it works like that, but please let me know so I can have some peace at mind.
It could be the fact that you need a new power supply. 500W is recommendable since this supports a massive amount of juice that can give power to anything connected.
__________________

EndlessChaos is offline  
Old 08-05-2009, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,776
Default Re: New burner not work, need power supply +info

Quote:
My question is, if I buy this new power supply (400-500w) will it be enough to supply power to everything I need? Also, I don't want to come home to find out that I need a bunch of new hardware just to work with my power supply, I'm not sure if it works like that, but please let me know so I can have some peace at mind.
A new power supply may solve your problem, but I find it odd that your current power supply can support everything+old SATA burner, but not everything+a slightly different SATA burner. You'd think it being a better brand would mean it were more efficient.
I don't really see what else the problem could be though, unless there's something up with the drive which interferes with POST.

Have you tried turning it on with the drive's power plugged in, but not the SATA cable?

Anyway, if you do get a new power supply, provided you get a decent brand it will support all your current hardware, however if you have a pre-built it's possible it may not fit in your case.
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndlessChaos View Post
500W is recommendable since this supports a massive amount of juice that can give power to anything connected.
Not precisely, amperage is a much more important number. You get 500W PSUs which only supply 20A on the 12v rail, which wouldn't support a GTX280 along with everything else, whereas good brands like Corsair are only 400W but gives 30A on the 12v. Less wattage, but better able to support a GTX280 with everything else.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Supply Messing Up Sneakymage66 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-10-2009 06:53 PM
Need help building a budgeted gaming system (amateur) kenny536 System Upgrades 32 03-11-2009 01:25 PM
I want a new video card. Silverfury New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-09-2008 01:05 AM
Upgrading Power Supply on DELL - Curse them. Snoobies New Systems | Building and Buying 3 02-12-2008 12:18 AM
New Power Supply and RAM go_sharks86 System Upgrades 11 01-13-2008 02:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.