New Built Not Posting - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-15-2007, 10:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: "Skook", PA, USA
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to imconfused Send a message via AIM to imconfused Send a message via MSN to imconfused Send a message via Yahoo to imconfused
Default New Built Not Posting

i've built a brand new pc, had to replace the mobo, CPU, and PSU a few times already due to the "possibly" of the parts being DOA or non-sufficient. i am now on my 3rd mobo, 2nd CPU, and 2nd PSU and i still cannot get a display to come up on my monitor (yes i've tried multiple monitors too) and definitely no sign of posting whatsoever. i've already tried an out of case build and disconnected all peripherals without headway. please help me with any ideas you may have.

SYSTEM SPECS:


- Intel D945GCPE Socket 775 Mobo
- Intel Pentium D 925 3.0GHz OEM CPU
- Thermaltake CL-P0378 90mm CPU Cooler
- Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 Memory
- Maxtor DiamondMax 21 200GB HD
- Sony NEC Optiarc 18x DVD Burner
- nVidia GeForce FX5200 256MB PCI GPU
- Diablo PSDA450 Dual LED Fan 450-Watt PSU
- Power Up ATX Silver Mid Tower
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM SPECS:

- Intel D945GCPE Socket 775 Mobo
- Intel Pentium D 925 3.0GHz OEM CPU
- Thermaltake CL-P0378 90mm CPU Cooler
- Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 Memory
- Maxtor DiamondMax 21 200GB HD
- Sony NEC Optiarc 18x DVD Burner
- nVidia GeForce FX5200 256MB PCI GPU
- Aspire Blue Aluminum Tri-Fan 520-Watt PSU
- Power Up ATX Silver Mid Tower
imconfused is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 10:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: New Built Not Posting

so your mobo and vid card are both pci express?
__________________

tomjennings83 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 10:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: New Built Not Posting

Did you make all the connections? 4pin power, video card power? Wrong power button pin? any sign of movement?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 11:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: "Skook", PA, USA
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to imconfused Send a message via AIM to imconfused Send a message via MSN to imconfused Send a message via Yahoo to imconfused
Default Re: New Built Not Posting

my mobo has no pci express or agp ports, just pci, and my GPU is PCI, but i don't have it in right now, i need the onboard video to work first so i can disable it in the bios and be able to use my PCI GPU. i have all connections in place and my GPU has no power port on it but that is irrelevant right now since it is not on the mobo at the moment. all connectors are on the right pins and nothing is moving.
__________________
SYSTEM SPECS:

- Intel D945GCPE Socket 775 Mobo
- Intel Pentium D 925 3.0GHz OEM CPU
- Thermaltake CL-P0378 90mm CPU Cooler
- Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 Memory
- Maxtor DiamondMax 21 200GB HD
- Sony NEC Optiarc 18x DVD Burner
- nVidia GeForce FX5200 256MB PCI GPU
- Aspire Blue Aluminum Tri-Fan 520-Watt PSU
- Power Up ATX Silver Mid Tower
imconfused is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Built a new computer...NO POWER!!! HELP!!! imconfused System Upgrades 33 11-26-2007 08:32 PM
Just Built new PC, need a quick answer please! rgoldberg1 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-12-2007 12:14 AM
Dose the Mac mini come with built in wireless? Kharn Apple and Mac 3 11-07-2007 03:05 PM
Headphones built in 5.1 Krustis Computer Audio and Multimedia 4 05-31-2007 03:58 AM
New built PC won't boot audiovideo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-13-2007 11:17 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.