New build won't boot to windows - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2010, 07:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

In the boot menu, what is the boot order? And do you see your hard drive there? How many hard drives do you have in your computer?
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 08:06 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
In the boot menu, what is the boot order? And do you see your hard drive there? How many hard drives do you have in your computer?
what u mean by order when u say boot order in menu?i have one cd drive..thats it....and a flash drive place or if u mean by hard drives in letters i have only 4 or 5 the first three i use
__________________

SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 08:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

What exactly does it say when you're in the boot menu? Try to type out everything that is listed.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 05:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
What exactly does it say when you're in the boot menu? Try to type out everything that is listed.
It says DSK03 ST3750528AS.... The under that it says in boot menu, DSK01 TSSTcorp CDDVDW TS-H6532Z then it asks me to move selection press up or down arrow then enter to boot device then F4 to boot using defaults...understand? So what do I do?
SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 05:38 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Make sure the hard drive where Windows is installed is at the top of the boot menu. If it is, try pressing F4 to boot default and see if that works.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 05:41 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Make sure the hard drive where Windows is installed is at the top of the boot menu. If it is, try pressing F4 to boot default and see if that works.
it still is telling me reboot and/or select proper boot device and install boot media device and press any key...right after i pressed what u said
SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 05:52 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Make sure your CD drive and floppy drive does not have any media in them before you power up your computer.

Also check to make sure all the cables inside are securely connected.

After you've done all of this, what you can try is running a hard drive diagnostics utility to see if your hard drive is faulty.

Follow the instructions on this site to create either a bootable floppy or CD diagnostics utility.
SeaTools for DOS | Seagate
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 05:54 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Make sure your CD drive and floppy drive does not have any media in them before you power up your computer.

Also check to make sure all the cables inside are securely connected.

After you've done all of this, what you can try is running a hard drive diagnostics utility to see if your hard drive is faulty.

Follow the instructions on this site to create either a bootable floppy or CD diagnostics utility.
SeaTools for DOS | Seagate
ok ty ill try that

Quote:
Originally Posted by SerenityMoon1 View Post
ok ty ill try that
the boot in diagnostics test was faulty on last test...so I can't do cd diagnostics utility..so should I take it to a comp shop that can fix it or can u still help where I'm stuck at?And I don't have floppy drive
SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 10:57 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

If you ran the diagnostics test and it resulted as a faulty hard drive then yes, take it to a comp shop if you're not sure on how to replace the hard drive.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-07-2010, 11:01 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Talking Re: New build won't boot to windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
If you ran the diagnostics test and it resulted as a faulty hard drive then yes, take it to a comp shop if you're not sure on how to replace the hard drive.
Ok thank you so much for all ur help
__________________

SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple confirms Windows 7 support for Mac OS X boot camp Osiris Apple and Mac 0 10-23-2009 08:45 AM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
xp sp3 beta not in add remove office politics Microsoft Windows and Software 10 01-10-2009 04:28 AM
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 04:29 AM
Booting Windows XP From An External Drive Osiris Apple and Mac 0 09-11-2008 09:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.